Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I found this recipe while searching for a good way to enjoy mustard greens without all the bacon drippings (I'm a vegetarian). Let me tell you - this recipe is a huge favorite with both myself and my husband (who is an omnivore). Keep all the ingredients the same, BUT there is no need to blanch the greens. Simply add a bit of water or broth to your cooking pot after sauteing, throw in the greens, bring the heat down to low, cover and steam for a few minutes before carrying on with the rest of the recipe. That keeps some nutrients in the pot - and also makes clean-up a little easier. I serve the curry over brown rice, and always serve a side of roasted sweet potatoes and onions that have been tossed in oil and cayenne. The flavor of the sweet potato mashed in with a big bite of curry is absolute heaven... And when I bring the leftovers to work for lunch, I get jealous comments every single time. I can't throw out enough superlatives about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is a great greens recipe! I made it vegan by using olive oil instead of ghee and 2 tablespoons soy yogurt instead of the cream. Also I used red curry powder instead of the usual yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Schwang! This dish was like 'ol South marries Indian. We liked it. Instead of half and half I used lite coconut milk and did take the advice from above and added some garlic. Also I used 1/2 tsp. of powdered ginger in place of fresh. Nearly made the error of using scallions instead of shallots - because here in the South we say green onion more often. This shows I'm still learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was absolutely delicious made with fresh mustard (and some kale) greens from the garden. I used coconut milk (low-fat) instead of the cream, onions and garlic instead of the shallots, home canned tomatoes, extra ginger and a lil bit of garam masala. Yummy and a great way to eat some nutritious greens and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Creek, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent. I added 2 cloves of garlic, minced. I had no half/half so I used plain yogurt. I served it over basmati rice. It was delicious and very nutritious. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very easy, pretty good. I didn't know whether or not to cut up the greens, so I chopped the bunch up in 3-4" lengths. I might go even a little smaller next time, especially since my toddler will also be eating this. I used olive oil instead of ghee (since I had it...), 1/2 a sweet onion (because I think shallots are expensive :-), and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of the 1/2 and 1/2. I also added salt & pepper. I think it was a little bland, so next time I'll increase the curry and the red pepper. And I'm thinking I'll add some raisins! P.S. Don't forget to make some rice to serve this dish over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Halfway through making this I asked myself, "Self, why am I making this? It can't be good..." Well, I was wrong! This is a very authentic tasting Indian dish! I did substitute home-canned tomatoes for the tomato sauce, and discovered my half and half was out of date so used buttermilk. Absolutely incredible!!! Really hit the spot served along pork tenderloin and a roasted sweet potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Quick to make and delicious! Made it vegan with olive oil and soy milk instead of cream. My mom liked it, and she hates mustard greens; it's just that good! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Peter
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
this is super tasty! i added an onion, used dried ginger, added a clove of garlic and left out the cream to make it vegan. It doesnt look so appetizing but trust me it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, and a great change from greens with bacon. We used collard greens instead of mustard, ground ginger instead of ginger root, chopped onion instead of shallots, olive oil instead of ghee; and added chopped garlic and 1/2 t. garam masala. I didn't cook it but I sure ate it! I provided the recipe and my son had it waiting for me when I got home from work. Fast, easy and very tasty. And healthy! Would add more crushed red next time, possibly cubed chicken, and will serve it over Basmati rice. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States