Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Loved this. I had kale and swiss chard in my garden, so substituted with a mix of both for the mustard greens. This is a very satisfying dish that would appeal to vegetarians or meat-eaters. Hearty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This combination, I thought, would have rubbed me the wrong way, but it really works. In fact i'm eating it as i type. My question is, why boil greens and drain? why not keep all the nutrients as intact as possible? would it be bitter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I accidentally bought mustard greens thinking they were kale. I got quite a surprise when I put it in my green smoothie! I was like, "what the heck am I going to do with these spicy things?". So, I found this recipe and it sounded good. Well, after trying it - I will intentionally buy mustard greens again, just to make this recipe. I loved it. I did make a few adjustments to make it vegan and to accommodate for ingredients that I didn't have on hand. I used coconut oil for the ghee, 1/2 can coconut milk for the half and half, and I didn't have any tomato sauce - so I put a can of diced tomatoes in the blender. Served it with brown basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
A great tasting, practical, healthy, every day meal, even if omitting salt is necessary (though we added some). This is good on rice, on naan, or whipped up into a bean dip (color's odd though, so make it deeper green by adding extra fresh spinach, & season to taste with salt, sweetener, vinegar and more spices). We forgot the red pepper & were fine without it for now. We'll put raisins on the table next time. We added coconut milk because we had some open. We used fresh spinach & it held up wonderfully, stirring it into the skillet after cooking the onion, garlic, & ginger, then added spices & all other ingredients, & simmered while making naan. Presentation might be better if greens are trimmed in thin strips - we'll see. Not fans of store bought curry powder so we used quick garam masala recipe from this sight. Wonderful alternative! We also had a small can of tomato paste open in the fridge already so used that. My husband added all of the tomato paste from that can which he could get out of it, which was a hint to me that he was looking for some salt. Sure enough the salt did the trick, though I added a pinch of sugar to round it out. Tomato paste was not too strong at all - maybe because of the sugar? Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I'd always hated kidney beans, but, believing all foods are good if one simply knows how to prepare them, I turned to allrecipes to find ways to enjoy kidney beans. That faith in allrecipes paid off again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Quick, easy and enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I was really surprised at how good these were. I used a mix of turnip and mustard greens. So good over rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I would have given this 3 stars, but my partner really liked it, so 4. I used regular butter and coconut milk instead of the 1/2 and 1/2, and just steamed the greens, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. We needed to add a lot more curry and I thought it was too tomato-ey. Next time I will use a large can of coconut milk and a small can of tomato sauce. Also, coconut oil instead of butter. Oh, and be sure to trim the stems and chop the greens. Second Try: Doubled the curry and added a dash of Garam Marsala. Only used an 8oz can of tomato sauce. MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very good. You will need some salt and pepper. I also used coconut sauce and fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Fantastic. We both loved it. Very good reheated, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
had to add a little salt, and use only about 3/4 of the can of tomatoe sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States