Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I found this once a long time ago and loved it so much that I memorized how to make it. I've just rediscovered All Recipes and found it here. This is, by far one of the best vegetarian recipes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
really really yummy! DO NOT BOIL THE GREENS! it makes them loose a lot of their nutrients. And keep the stems! they will soften but actually have more nutrients than leaves. I mixed it all (except the greens) together after cooking shallots and then placed the layer of chopped greens over the top and slowly worked it in as it wilted, which didn't take long. I would also choose a different bean - something softer. Made the following subs for doubled recipe: >coconut milk for half and half >one can of diced tomatoes and one sauce (rather than 2 sauce) >ginger powder for fresh (couldn't find in store) I put it over rice but that reduced the nice strong flavors... I would prefer adding some veg stock and having it as a stew. Was surprisingly easy and so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
WOW! I love the aroma this dish emitted - our home smelled delicious for days! Though not a family fav, I give 5 stars because I was not only proud of myself, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
3.5 stars. Good recipe but a little bland. Added tamari and a little more ginger. Trying to not cook with oil products so used water to sauté. In lieu of 1/2 and 1/2 I blended equal parts cashews with water. I also cut the veggies down. Overall good recipe. I might add some more Indian spices after it sits for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Good. Made as written except I used olive oil and added a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was very tasty. I'd found some mustard greens by surprise in the grocery store and was looking for a way to use them. I had to tweak the recipe a little based on what I had (EVOO instead of ghee, two large purple-topped scallions for the shallots). I did add one large clove of garlic, minced fine (Indian food just isn't without it to me), and I had to had about 1/2 t. salt because I'd used sodium-free tomato sauce. I micro-steamed the greens to save time and water, but other than that, I followed the directions to the letter. The dish was finished about 40 minutes before we were going to eat, so I sliced some leftover pork loin about 1/3" thick, nestled the slices in the sauce, covered the pot, turned the heat to low and just left it. When we were ready, I spooned the beans and greens onto the plates, making a bed for the sliced pork, a la restaurant , and drizzled more sauce over the top. We didn't even need any starch with it. Lovely! The curried sauce warmed the pork slices through without drying them out--so tasty! I'll make this again using kale or spinach if I can't find mustard greens. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
So delicious and easy to throw together. I used coconut milk and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was my first time using mustard greens and I will never buy them again. (It was a mistake in the first place.) The greens are so bitter you can't eat the dish. The sauce and beans are good, so maybe another type of green would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is wonderful. I did a mixture of red mustard greens and swiss chard from the garden, and made it vegan / dairy free using olive oil and coconut milk and jasmine rice to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Love this recipe. I did make a few changes as suggested by other raters. I used onions, canned tomatoes and the coconut milk. Really tasty and a great way to eat mustard greens. I also ate it like a soup so yummy and no need to cook rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States