Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
A great tasting, practical, healthy, every day meal, even if omitting salt is necessary (though we added some). This is good on rice, on naan, or whipped up into a bean dip (color's odd though, so make it deeper green by adding extra fresh spinach, & season to taste with salt, sweetener, vinegar and more spices). We forgot the red pepper & were fine without it for now. We'll put raisins on the table next time. We added coconut milk because we had some open. We used fresh spinach & it held up wonderfully, stirring it into the skillet after cooking the onion, garlic, & ginger, then added spices & all other ingredients, & simmered while making naan. Presentation might be better if greens are trimmed in thin strips - we'll see. Not fans of store bought curry powder so we used quick garam masala recipe from this sight. Wonderful alternative! We also had a small can of tomato paste open in the fridge already so used that. My husband added all of the tomato paste from that can which he could get out of it, which was a hint to me that he was looking for some salt. Sure enough the salt did the trick, though I added a pinch of sugar to round it out. Tomato paste was not too strong at all - maybe because of the sugar? Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I'd always hated kidney beans, but, believing all foods are good if one simply knows how to prepare them, I turned to allrecipes to find ways to enjoy kidney beans. That faith in allrecipes paid off again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Quick, easy and enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I was really surprised at how good these were. I used a mix of turnip and mustard greens. So good over rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I would have given this 3 stars, but my partner really liked it, so 4. I used regular butter and coconut milk instead of the 1/2 and 1/2, and just steamed the greens, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. We needed to add a lot more curry and I thought it was too tomato-ey. Next time I will use a large can of coconut milk and a small can of tomato sauce. Also, coconut oil instead of butter. Oh, and be sure to trim the stems and chop the greens. Second Try: Doubled the curry and added a dash of Garam Marsala. Only used an 8oz can of tomato sauce. MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very good. You will need some salt and pepper. I also used coconut sauce and fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Fantastic. We both loved it. Very good reheated, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
had to add a little salt, and use only about 3/4 of the can of tomatoe sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My family loved this dish (and we don"t normally care for greens)! I did modify it for waht I had on hand. I had greens given to me and I don't know what kinds they were. Also I substituted regular butter for ghee, onion for shallot, and ginger spice for grated fresh ginger. I'm sure it would have been even better if I had the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I had never eaten mustard greens before but bought some this weekend at the farmer's market. Found this recipe and it sounded so completely different that I had to try it! YUM!! I think I overdid the red pepper a bit, but that was my fault. Next time I will use coconut milk, cause that's the way I roll, I used olive oil instead of ghee just for ease factor, but as is is delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Fluette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Great recipe! Can't believe how delicious and easy this is. I also used olive oil and coconut milk as replacements to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakinegrindz
Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States