Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
A friend gave me some mustard greens from her garden, which I had never eaten. My version of this recipe because of healthy personal preferences: coconut oil instead of butter, fresh roma tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, dried red kidney beans instead of canned and coconut milk instead of half and half, which complements the curry very well. I went a bit overboard with the pepper flakes but adding more beans took care it the extra heat. Creamy and delicious!!! We'll be eating it over jasmine rice to enjoy the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was very tasty. My kids gave it 2 thumbs up! I wanted a new recipe for greens and this is a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I was looking for a new way to cook up some greens I have made them all sorts of ways but this has got to be my favorite thus far. I did make some changes only because I wanted to use what I had on hand. I used mustard greens and some turnip greens. I did not have shallots so I used onion and garlic also I used whole milk instead of the half and half. the end result was delicious I will try next time to steam the greens in the pot instead of blanching them separately to retain more nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
delicious! I used coconut milk instead of the half and half and I used a bit less than the whole can of tomato. I also added a bit more curry powder than what was called for. I didn't pre boil the mustard greens. Instead I cut them up into smaller pieces and just added a bit of water to the frying pan to steam the greens in the pan. I didn't use the stalks but I think next time I would use more of the stalks. The dish tasted amazing! I served it with brown rice and some pork tenderloin that I coated in coconut oil, garlic, and salt and broiled it in the oven . Thanks for a terrific recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I found this once a long time ago and loved it so much that I memorized how to make it. I've just rediscovered All Recipes and found it here. This is, by far one of the best vegetarian recipes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
really really yummy! DO NOT BOIL THE GREENS! it makes them loose a lot of their nutrients. And keep the stems! they will soften but actually have more nutrients than leaves. I mixed it all (except the greens) together after cooking shallots and then placed the layer of chopped greens over the top and slowly worked it in as it wilted, which didn't take long. I would also choose a different bean - something softer. Made the following subs for doubled recipe: >coconut milk for half and half >one can of diced tomatoes and one sauce (rather than 2 sauce) >ginger powder for fresh (couldn't find in store) I put it over rice but that reduced the nice strong flavors... I would prefer adding some veg stock and having it as a stew. Was surprisingly easy and so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
WOW! I love the aroma this dish emitted - our home smelled delicious for days! Though not a family fav, I give 5 stars because I was not only proud of myself, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
3.5 stars. Good recipe but a little bland. Added tamari and a little more ginger. Trying to not cook with oil products so used water to sauté. In lieu of 1/2 and 1/2 I blended equal parts cashews with water. I also cut the veggies down. Overall good recipe. I might add some more Indian spices after it sits for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Good. Made as written except I used olive oil and added a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was very tasty. I'd found some mustard greens by surprise in the grocery store and was looking for a way to use them. I had to tweak the recipe a little based on what I had (EVOO instead of ghee, two large purple-topped scallions for the shallots). I did add one large clove of garlic, minced fine (Indian food just isn't without it to me), and I had to had about 1/2 t. salt because I'd used sodium-free tomato sauce. I micro-steamed the greens to save time and water, but other than that, I followed the directions to the letter. The dish was finished about 40 minutes before we were going to eat, so I sliced some leftover pork loin about 1/3" thick, nestled the slices in the sauce, covered the pot, turned the heat to low and just left it. When we were ready, I spooned the beans and greens onto the plates, making a bed for the sliced pork, a la restaurant , and drizzled more sauce over the top. We didn't even need any starch with it. Lovely! The curried sauce warmed the pork slices through without drying them out--so tasty! I'll make this again using kale or spinach if I can't find mustard greens. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States