Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
delicious! I used coconut milk instead of the half and half and I used a bit less than the whole can of tomato. I also added a bit more curry powder than what was called for. I didn't pre boil the mustard greens. Instead I cut them up into smaller pieces and just added a bit of water to the frying pan to steam the greens in the pan. I didn't use the stalks but I think next time I would use more of the stalks. The dish tasted amazing! I served it with brown rice and some pork tenderloin that I coated in coconut oil, garlic, and salt and broiled it in the oven . Thanks for a terrific recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I found this once a long time ago and loved it so much that I memorized how to make it. I've just rediscovered All Recipes and found it here. This is, by far one of the best vegetarian recipes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
really really yummy! DO NOT BOIL THE GREENS! it makes them loose a lot of their nutrients. And keep the stems! they will soften but actually have more nutrients than leaves. I mixed it all (except the greens) together after cooking shallots and then placed the layer of chopped greens over the top and slowly worked it in as it wilted, which didn't take long. I would also choose a different bean - something softer. Made the following subs for doubled recipe: >coconut milk for half and half >one can of diced tomatoes and one sauce (rather than 2 sauce) >ginger powder for fresh (couldn't find in store) I put it over rice but that reduced the nice strong flavors... I would prefer adding some veg stock and having it as a stew. Was surprisingly easy and so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
WOW! I love the aroma this dish emitted - our home smelled delicious for days! Though not a family fav, I give 5 stars because I was not only proud of myself, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
3.5 stars. Good recipe but a little bland. Added tamari and a little more ginger. Trying to not cook with oil products so used water to sauté. In lieu of 1/2 and 1/2 I blended equal parts cashews with water. I also cut the veggies down. Overall good recipe. I might add some more Indian spices after it sits for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Good. Made as written except I used olive oil and added a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was very tasty. I'd found some mustard greens by surprise in the grocery store and was looking for a way to use them. I had to tweak the recipe a little based on what I had (EVOO instead of ghee, two large purple-topped scallions for the shallots). I did add one large clove of garlic, minced fine (Indian food just isn't without it to me), and I had to had about 1/2 t. salt because I'd used sodium-free tomato sauce. I micro-steamed the greens to save time and water, but other than that, I followed the directions to the letter. The dish was finished about 40 minutes before we were going to eat, so I sliced some leftover pork loin about 1/3" thick, nestled the slices in the sauce, covered the pot, turned the heat to low and just left it. When we were ready, I spooned the beans and greens onto the plates, making a bed for the sliced pork, a la restaurant , and drizzled more sauce over the top. We didn't even need any starch with it. Lovely! The curried sauce warmed the pork slices through without drying them out--so tasty! I'll make this again using kale or spinach if I can't find mustard greens. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
So delicious and easy to throw together. I used coconut milk and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was my first time using mustard greens and I will never buy them again. (It was a mistake in the first place.) The greens are so bitter you can't eat the dish. The sauce and beans are good, so maybe another type of green would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is wonderful. I did a mixture of red mustard greens and swiss chard from the garden, and made it vegan / dairy free using olive oil and coconut milk and jasmine rice to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States