Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is a great greens recipe! I made it vegan by using olive oil instead of ghee and 2 tablespoons soy yogurt instead of the cream. Also I used red curry powder instead of the usual yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Wonderful flavor and easy to prepare! Even without the red peppper flakes it has plenty of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Easy, fast and flexible. You can add or delete what you want to make the recipe work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I've never had mustard greens before but wanted to give them a try. I did not like this at all and my husband wouldn't even try it. Still I gave it 3 stars because it is easy to prepare and I'm thinking that I probably just don't like mustard greens! The sauce was ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Quick to make and delicious! Made it vegan with olive oil and soy milk instead of cream. My mom liked it, and she hates mustard greens; it's just that good! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Peter
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
i changed some stuff in this. i added a cup (measured before cooking) brown rice and two and a half cubed chicken breasts, which i cooked with the shallots. i added the rice with the tomato sauce etc. i also halved the curry powder but ended up adding a few more dashes after all was said and done. i think this needed a little bit of salt, which i added and it improved the flavor. it turned out really tasty, and very filling !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
this is super tasty! i added an onion, used dried ginger, added a clove of garlic and left out the cream to make it vegan. It doesnt look so appetizing but trust me it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very easy, pretty good. I didn't know whether or not to cut up the greens, so I chopped the bunch up in 3-4" lengths. I might go even a little smaller next time, especially since my toddler will also be eating this. I used olive oil instead of ghee (since I had it...), 1/2 a sweet onion (because I think shallots are expensive :-), and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of the 1/2 and 1/2. I also added salt & pepper. I think it was a little bland, so next time I'll increase the curry and the red pepper. And I'm thinking I'll add some raisins! P.S. Don't forget to make some rice to serve this dish over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Halfway through making this I asked myself, "Self, why am I making this? It can't be good..." Well, I was wrong! This is a very authentic tasting Indian dish! I did substitute home-canned tomatoes for the tomato sauce, and discovered my half and half was out of date so used buttermilk. Absolutely incredible!!! Really hit the spot served along pork tenderloin and a roasted sweet potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Schwang! This dish was like 'ol South marries Indian. We liked it. Instead of half and half I used lite coconut milk and did take the advice from above and added some garlic. Also I used 1/2 tsp. of powdered ginger in place of fresh. Nearly made the error of using scallions instead of shallots - because here in the South we say green onion more often. This shows I'm still learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States