Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
We added garlic cloves and used coconut milk instead of half & half. We also made couscous instead of rice. It was surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was such an easy and delicious recipe! I didn't have any shallots or onions so I just added a couple of cloves of garlic. I also substituted olive oil for the ghee and pinto beans for the kidney beans. What a versatile recipe! It was wonderful and tasted as if I had slaved over the stove for an hour and a half when the whole thing took about 30minutes from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I used frozen mustard greens, onions instead of the shallots, and fat-free yogurt (per another reviewer's suggestion) instead of heavy cream. It was still a wonderful side dish...full of flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Picked free mustard greens which I've never before liked today. This recipe was wonderful with NO trace of bitterness from the greens. I'm going to make up a batch and try to freeze it for later. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Schwang! This dish was like 'ol South marries Indian. We liked it. Instead of half and half I used lite coconut milk and did take the advice from above and added some garlic. Also I used 1/2 tsp. of powdered ginger in place of fresh. Nearly made the error of using scallions instead of shallots - because here in the South we say green onion more often. This shows I'm still learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Halfway through making this I asked myself, "Self, why am I making this? It can't be good..." Well, I was wrong! This is a very authentic tasting Indian dish! I did substitute home-canned tomatoes for the tomato sauce, and discovered my half and half was out of date so used buttermilk. Absolutely incredible!!! Really hit the spot served along pork tenderloin and a roasted sweet potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very easy, pretty good. I didn't know whether or not to cut up the greens, so I chopped the bunch up in 3-4" lengths. I might go even a little smaller next time, especially since my toddler will also be eating this. I used olive oil instead of ghee (since I had it...), 1/2 a sweet onion (because I think shallots are expensive :-), and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of the 1/2 and 1/2. I also added salt & pepper. I think it was a little bland, so next time I'll increase the curry and the red pepper. And I'm thinking I'll add some raisins! P.S. Don't forget to make some rice to serve this dish over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
this is super tasty! i added an onion, used dried ginger, added a clove of garlic and left out the cream to make it vegan. It doesnt look so appetizing but trust me it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
i changed some stuff in this. i added a cup (measured before cooking) brown rice and two and a half cubed chicken breasts, which i cooked with the shallots. i added the rice with the tomato sauce etc. i also halved the curry powder but ended up adding a few more dashes after all was said and done. i think this needed a little bit of salt, which i added and it improved the flavor. it turned out really tasty, and very filling !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Quick to make and delicious! Made it vegan with olive oil and soy milk instead of cream. My mom liked it, and she hates mustard greens; it's just that good! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Peter
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States