Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This dish makes me so happy to be vegan (with a few changes, that is)! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I tweaked the original recipe a bit. I used safflower oil instead of the ghee and soy milk instead of the half & half. I added an extra tsp of curry and about 1/2 cup of raisins also. The raisins are a must (thank you to the previous reviewer who suggested it!) I served it over wild rice. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Pretty good but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Really good with coconut milk instead of cream!! Added a little garlic and some sugar to balance out the spiciness of the curry and bitterness of the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made it pretty much as read with the following substitutions: butter instead of ghee, 1/2 tbsp powdered ginger instead of fresh, can of lite coconut milk instead of the half and half. I also doubled the kidney beans, added a few cloves of minced garlic in with the onions, added a tsp or two of garam masala in with the curry plus a little salt, and used way more greens - probably 1 bunch mustard greens, and 2 bunches kale (and could have used a bunch or two more). Turned out fantastic! Serve over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Cooked in a pressure cooker with soaked beans all together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good! It does need more flavor though. I added a teaspoon of additional curry and about 1 1/2 tsp of onion powder. I didn't have shallots so I just used green onions and added onion powder. I also used a can of diced tomatoes because I realized the tomato sauce I bought had basil and oregano in it. I also salted it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used canola oil, onion, and fat free milk instead of ghee, shallot, and half-and-half, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was very good! I used collard greens because that was what I had.. Very yummy. I was afraid that it would taste a lot like Palak, but it really didn't. It has an Indian flavor, and you could defiantly add Garam Masala, etc, for a more 'authentic' taste, but it's just as good the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is very good, easy, and versatile. Like others, I subbed coconut milk and added more spice. Used diced tomatoes instead of sauce. Over rice, it is a such a great quick meal that doesn't taste like you rushed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have to agree with the other reviewers, this was very good! Of course, I changed it to what I had on hand. Browned 2 onions in ghee for about 15 mins before adding 4 cloves chopped garlic, 3 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/2 tsp ground ginger. cooked another 5 mins then added 15 oz crushed tomatoes, 1 can coconut milk, kidney bean, and one of those big bags of prewashed and cut kale greens. Added 2 tsp salt, stirred to combine and soften greens a bit then let simmer gently for 20-30 minutes. Stirred occasionally during cooking. This was such a great combination of flavors and had a nice, rich taste. Served over some brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States