Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, and a great change from greens with bacon. We used collard greens instead of mustard, ground ginger instead of ginger root, chopped onion instead of shallots, olive oil instead of ghee; and added chopped garlic and 1/2 t. garam masala. I didn't cook it but I sure ate it! I provided the recipe and my son had it waiting for me when I got home from work. Fast, easy and very tasty. And healthy! Would add more crushed red next time, possibly cubed chicken, and will serve it over Basmati rice. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
A fast and easy way to serve mustard greens! We are casein free here, so omitted the cream, and it was still deelish!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I liked this, but it definitely seemed to be missing something. I had to add salt (not called for in the recipe). Not sure how this garnered so many 5-star ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This dish makes me so happy to be vegan (with a few changes, that is)! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I tweaked the original recipe a bit. I used safflower oil instead of the ghee and soy milk instead of the half & half. I added an extra tsp of curry and about 1/2 cup of raisins also. The raisins are a must (thank you to the previous reviewer who suggested it!) I served it over wild rice. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Pretty good but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Really good with coconut milk instead of cream!! Added a little garlic and some sugar to balance out the spiciness of the curry and bitterness of the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made it pretty much as read with the following substitutions: butter instead of ghee, 1/2 tbsp powdered ginger instead of fresh, can of lite coconut milk instead of the half and half. I also doubled the kidney beans, added a few cloves of minced garlic in with the onions, added a tsp or two of garam masala in with the curry plus a little salt, and used way more greens - probably 1 bunch mustard greens, and 2 bunches kale (and could have used a bunch or two more). Turned out fantastic! Serve over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Cooked in a pressure cooker with soaked beans all together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good! It does need more flavor though. I added a teaspoon of additional curry and about 1 1/2 tsp of onion powder. I didn't have shallots so I just used green onions and added onion powder. I also used a can of diced tomatoes because I realized the tomato sauce I bought had basil and oregano in it. I also salted it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used canola oil, onion, and fat free milk instead of ghee, shallot, and half-and-half, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States