Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Excellent taste. I followed some suggestions using olive oil instead of ghee, soy milk instead of half and half and garlic and onions instead of shallots. I also added a pinch of garam masala and used 6oz tomato paste mixed with water to make "tomato sauce." Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very Good... Used fresh mustard greens from my neighbor's garden. Took other reviewer's advice: I just threw the greens in the large skillet after everything else without pre-boiling. Also used yogurt vs. 1/2&1/2. Both suggestions worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a pretty good way to get those healthy dark greens in your diet in a different way. Being vegetarian, we are always looking for good sources of veggies and protiens. I used 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup skim milk. in place of the half and half and used olive oil instead of ghee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was just okay. I think the mustard greens are too strong flavored for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Flavorful, exotic! I added a can of garbanzo beans and skipped the rice side dish. If you rinse and chop the greens ahead of time, dinner can be on the table in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was very bland. It smelled wonderful but tasted very different, which was disappointing, given the ratings. I am not sure what went wrong since directions were followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Yum! Used one onion and one clove of garlic instead of shallots. Used can diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. Added 1t salt. Make sure to simmer for 10 minutes or so to let the flavors blend. This is one of my new favorite Indian inspired dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My husband and I have had this twice without the 1/2 & 1/2. I used pinto beans once and dark red kidneys once. We agreed that we prefer the pintos. We have used mustard greens and chard; either is great. Also, we didn't have tomato paste so we used diced tomatoes. This is a great side dish or can be the main dish with some good bread on a cool night (instead of chili).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was so quick & easy, and a great way for me to use the mustard greens from my farm share. I wanted a stronger flavor though so I about doubled the amount of curry powder and added a couple cloves of garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
very good, but i think it needed a little extra something. Next time I'll try adding fresh garlic and/or more onion. All the same, still a good recipe. Even my picky boyfriend liked it, although he used it as a chip dip instead of eating it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States