Curried Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
My wife and I couldn't even eat this, and we both like Indian food. The ingredients would be (and have been) fine for a chicken recipe, but with ground beef the taste was pretty darn bad. After wasting over a pound of meat, we had to resort to popping some Ellio's frozen pizza in the oven so we hadn't upped the gas bill for nothing. Now we know: Never try to incorporate Eastern ingredients with ground beef. It's an awkward combo. If you're thinking of making this, keep one thing in mind: peanuts in your hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I omit the nuts, often substitute chopped prunes for raisins and often add some grated carrot. I reduce the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp and increase the curry to 3 tsp. The best addition though is glazing the loaf or loaves with a sweet mango chutney. I prefer to make the loaf into indivdual patties and brush each one with chutney. I bake on a lined cookie sheet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
A phenomenal idea that needed some touching up. I added half an onion, diced, two cloves garlic, diced, made my own italian spice mix, doubled the called for curry and added a teaspoon of mustard powder. I also did not bother with all of the aluminum foil action, which may or may not be worth it, I can't say. All in all - Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I wanted something different, but this was even Better than I had hoped for! It's not too strong with the curry, in fact, next time I will try adding a little more with the brand I got (it varies by brand). What little leftovers we had were even better the next day! The nuts and raisins are a must! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was really good. The apple and raisins added a hint of sweetness without making it truly sweet. The curry combines with the fruit to give it a very Mediterranean/Mid-Eastern flavor. It really reminds me of Georgian food. In fact, I think I may try it next time with walnuts in place of the peanuts and khmeli-suneli (Georgian spice blend) in place of the curry, but it's excellent just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Great recipe. I followed all the measurements and cooking time, and it came out perfect. It goes nicely with Sweet Potato Fries. I omitted the peanuts and it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
The flavor was great. I chopped half of the peanuts and broke to rest into halves. The whole halves gave it a nice crunch. The loaves were very most inside but a little hard or dry on top. The next day I made a glaze for the tops of the left over loaves. Staying with the flavors in the recipe, I melted a 1/4c. apricot preserves (I did not have apple) with 1t of peanut butter, 1t ketchup, curry and garlic powder to taste. When reheated with the glaze, the top was nice and soft. Next time I will add the glaze to the top during the last 5 minutes of cooking. Will definelty make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Loved this recipe & it was so easy to make! I cut back on the chopped peanuts but will put the recommended amount next time. I might also add a little more curry or purchase a different curry because I didn't notice that taste too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMSURFBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was an outstanding dish. No need to modify anything - just prepare as described and you will not be disappointed. Anyone giving this a bad review either does not like curry, or did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I decided to try this as a little change from "traditional" meatloaf. It was delicious. The flavors all melded together nicely. It wasn't terribly spicy, but my family doesn't go for heavily-spiced food, so they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States