Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I mostly followed the recipe I had soaked the lentils the night before so I used less then a cup of water and used the red curry paste 1 tablespoon worked well I didn't think it was spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Quick and easy. I doubled everything but the curry paste (I used Thai red curry paste), and used a full can of coconut milk. I added approx. 1 teaspoon each of fish sauce, lime juice, and brown sugar, as well as some shredded carrots and green onion. Next time I would probably use slightly more curry paste, but I like my food with a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a very simple dish to make. I added some carrots, as I love them with lentils, and used coconut milk, not cream of coconut. There certainly didn't need to be any more sweetness. I read quite a few reviews talking about the dish being too spicy, and I overcompensated, so it was not spicy enough - my fault. Next time, I would add some garlic, sautéed onions, and more curry paste. I served it with raisins, chopped peanuts, minced fresh parsley on a bed of couscous with toasted pinenuts and some toasted naan on the side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I doubled the recipe and used a full can of light coconut milk cooking until it was fairly thick. As other have suggest I used chicken stock instead of water and 1 tsp of red curry paste. Plenty spicy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Goit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good with adjustments based on reviewer suggestions: used chicken broth instead of water, coconut milk not cream, and curry powder not paste; doubled all ingredients except coconut milk; added 3/4 cup shredded carrot and 1/2 cup golden raisins with the curry and coconut milk. Great with quinoa, tomatoes and avocado in tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I doubled the recipe, and used an entire can of coconut milk, added 2 tsp of brown sugar. and used green Thai curry paste. I also added one caramelized onion to the mixture, but found the lentils were still hard. I added on another 15 minutes to the cooking time and added julienne carrots 7 minutes before the finish time. Wonderful spicy dish served over basmati rice, I would reccomend cutting the curry in half if you don't like it too spicy. Will definately make it again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
We loved this recipe. I was a little worried about the amount of spice, but it was perfect. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utroukx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is such a heroic dish! Easy to make, easy to alter, and it impresses everyone that I give it to. There is a lot of liquid and usually I end up simmering for an extra 10-15 minutes to fully cook my lentils. Eventually after sitting a while the lentils will absorb most of the juice. The extra yummy liquid is getting all soaked up into the rice anyway– don't worry about it. When I initially boil the lentils I'll add a vegan bullion cube for every two servings I'm making. When I add the coconut milk I like to add a little cumin. I add the same exact amount of curry paste in the ingredient list and it's fine– maybe mine is pretty mild. I like to grate carrots (1/4 cup per 2 servings) and toss them into the lentil mix the last 5-10 minutes of simmering. Extra delicious on jasmine rice and with caramelized onions (with a pinch of cinnamon on the onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Simple and quick. I used curry powder instead of paste and it was a nice depth of flavor, perfect for serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gracelovestocook
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Just made these. Added carrots and when almost done threw in a handful of raisins, but regret not loading it up with veggies. I did not measure anything, just used basic recipe to taste. Can't go wrong here. All I had was coconut cream, not the coco milk. Sharp coconut taste. Yum! I'm going to serve with jasmine rice or maybe couscous. Really great basic recipe. I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States