Curried Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I normally do not like hummus, but I loved this one. I served it at a small Indian themed dinner party, and it was GOBBLED up by all my guests. Some of my guests were lovers of hummus and commented that they liked the refreshing difference of this dish. So easy, and so good. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This recipe was very tasty and refreshing. I changed the servings to 8 and it made PLENTY. I also added fresh cilantro, since we love it. I served it with cut up pita wedges and cucumber slices. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
By far the best tasting hummus I have made. The curry gives a new twist on this dish. I had dinner guests who dislike curried dishes and hummus separately, but raved about this dish and really "dug in".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Excellent! I love this recipe. Very simple and easy. The curry adds a wonderful flavor and color. Highly recommended for entertaining or for a lunch or appetizer for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
What a great recipe! I thought the curry was a bit much, but everybody else liked it. Next time I make this, I will try 3 tsp instead of 4 tsp curry powder. I also used about 1/3 cup water, because I didn't want it too runny. It was the perfect consistency. I served this with grilled chicken pieces, sliced olives, tomatoes, avocados, shredded lettuce and feta cheese on pita bread. I call them my "Greek Tacos". Try it sometime, they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe and am making the following suggestions: use the liquid in the cans of chickpeas instead of the water, and add 1/4 cup of tahini (sesame paste). I also added one small jar of artichoke hearts and a few dashes of black pepper. Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe is truly a winner, in fact, the best of the best, and I've tried probably 10 or 15 recipes for hummus in the past several months. Some were quite good, but I never could find exactly the right touch till this one. Some are too garlicky, some too sour, some too bland. All seemed to be similar, but not quite right. With this recipe, the curry powder is the winning secret ingredient. The slight changes I would make is to add 1/4 c. water instead of the 1/2 (it is runnier than I prefer). As others have said, I would lessen the curry pwd. just a mite. The next day seems to even intensify the flavors, making the curry issue even more noticeable. The quantity is perfect using the two cans of chickpeas. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This was one of the tastiest hummus recipes I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Nevr met a humuus I didn't like. This is good. Try adding a soft baked sweet potato, mashed to your hummus recipe, too. Tasty and wonderful colour as is this Curried Hummus recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Very yummy! My 1 year old son couldn't get enough. Soft hummus taste with a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melaniebousquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States