Curried Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2005
By far the best tasting hummus I have made. The curry gives a new twist on this dish. I had dinner guests who dislike curried dishes and hummus separately, but raved about this dish and really "dug in".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Excellent! I love this recipe. Very simple and easy. The curry adds a wonderful flavor and color. Highly recommended for entertaining or for a lunch or appetizer for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
A different "take" on the original... I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This was good, but a little too garlic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
What a great recipe! I thought the curry was a bit much, but everybody else liked it. Next time I make this, I will try 3 tsp instead of 4 tsp curry powder. I also used about 1/3 cup water, because I didn't want it too runny. It was the perfect consistency. I served this with grilled chicken pieces, sliced olives, tomatoes, avocados, shredded lettuce and feta cheese on pita bread. I call them my "Greek Tacos". Try it sometime, they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe and am making the following suggestions: use the liquid in the cans of chickpeas instead of the water, and add 1/4 cup of tahini (sesame paste). I also added one small jar of artichoke hearts and a few dashes of black pepper. Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I made this for my daughter who likes everything. She didn't like it, that's why I'm giving it three stars. I cut in half, left out the hotsauce, and it still has plenty of kick. I like it all right, I put it on my pita sandwich at lunch, along with lettuce, Craisins, & feta cheese. I will probably keep looking for a recipe that both my daughter and I can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe is truly a winner, in fact, the best of the best, and I've tried probably 10 or 15 recipes for hummus in the past several months. Some were quite good, but I never could find exactly the right touch till this one. Some are too garlicky, some too sour, some too bland. All seemed to be similar, but not quite right. With this recipe, the curry powder is the winning secret ingredient. The slight changes I would make is to add 1/4 c. water instead of the 1/2 (it is runnier than I prefer). As others have said, I would lessen the curry pwd. just a mite. The next day seems to even intensify the flavors, making the curry issue even more noticeable. The quantity is perfect using the two cans of chickpeas. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This recipe was very tasty and refreshing. I changed the servings to 8 and it made PLENTY. I also added fresh cilantro, since we love it. I served it with cut up pita wedges and cucumber slices. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I prefer hummus made with tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States