Curried Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was my first time making hummus and I kind of winged it. I made a few changes to the recipe so this isn't quite a fair review. First, I was almost out of curry powder so I used 1t curry and 2t cumin (too much cumin even though i love it). Also i followed other user's suggestions and used 1/4c liquid from the beans which was perfect. Anymore liquid would have been too much. Really different, and good though. I'll try it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexykatmeow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made this for a party (twice) and it was a hit, both times. Loved it. Loved it so much I made home made pita chips to go with it. My husband the curry-hater LOVED this. It was so GOOD. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was because I felt it was missing something. So I added some onion....great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is the first hummus I have made, and it was easy. However, it is very lemony and garlicy. I will halve both componants next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullajabbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a great recipe, the hummus has lots of body and flavour! Great with vegetables and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I'm sorry to say I added a couple of tablespoons of tostitos nacho cheese dip - but just to appease the kids. Otherwise the curry was a nice touch when you don't have tahini in the house. I also made the water and curry changes suggested elsewhere in these reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Sooo good exactly as is, although I sometimes add more curry (I'm a big fan). The only downside of this hummus is I cannot stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I needed a lot of water to get this to a good consistency and I added a lot more spices after tasting. But it wound up tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I use about half as much curry and lemon juice as is called for and it makes the best hummus. People always want the recipe when I bring to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
meh?! not very good. tastes like curry seasoning with lemon. I won't be making this again. It is doable with Saracha hot sauce mixed in...and bell peppers to eat it with...but i like a hummus that can hold it's own...this does not in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Delicious! The combination of spices is fantastic. I followed another reviewer's advice and added a few TBSP. sesame tahini and that made the second batch even better. Served on toasted bread with meat and veggies for a scrumptious open-faced sandwhich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States