Curried Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. Part of me thinks it's really tasty, but the other part of me thinks the flavors are just overwhelming. I don't like it as a dip, but I did like it when I put it in a pita with cucumbers, tomatoes, spinach, and yogurt. I guess the curry flavor is managable when mixed with other flavors? Also, I did prefer this after I mixed it with a little bit of plain yogurt. It mellowed the flavor a bit, and also gave it some of the creaminess that you'd usually get from tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is the BEST hummus ever!! Even my dear husband who does not like hummus loved this. I made exactly as written and would not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Crazy good! I am stuck in the house... so i had to sub - lime juice for lemon. Will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I normally do not like hummus, but I loved this one. I served it at a small Indian themed dinner party, and it was GOBBLED up by all my guests. Some of my guests were lovers of hummus and commented that they liked the refreshing difference of this dish. So easy, and so good. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The texture was pretty good. The curry was overwhelming and needed some other flavor to balance it. Not too bad, but we will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
So delicious. I added four garlic cloves as I'm a garlic fiend, and followed the recipe revision suggestions about using the liquid from the drained garbanzo beans. Another reviewer suggested mixing this with water-packed tuna for a delicious and healthful lunch and I'm going to try it. This rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was okay, but not a keeper. I followed others reviews and used the chickpea juice instead of water. But unfortunately I didn't follow the suggestions of using less liquid. 1/2 cup was definately too much and made the hummus runny. Also, there was too much lemon juice. I think I prefer hummus recipes with tahini, too. This wasn't bad, but I like other more traditional recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Very yummy! My 1 year old son couldn't get enough. Soft hummus taste with a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melaniebousquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Quick, easy and tasty. I left out the Curry and instead of regular Hot Sauce I used a flavoured hot sauce - For the pita... try using Greek Style Pita - cut into triangles place on plate with damp paper towel over top - microwave for 10 secs and then place in oven until outter crust is lightly toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Nevr met a humuus I didn't like. This is good. Try adding a soft baked sweet potato, mashed to your hummus recipe, too. Tasty and wonderful colour as is this Curried Hummus recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States