Curried Honey Mustard Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Excellent marinade but way too much butter. I use a few tablepsoons of olive oil and whisk it into the mustard mixture, thickens it up nicely. If still too thick, add a little bit of water. Do this or else the chicken will be swimming in butter when it's done. I do add 1/2 and 1/2 coarse ground mustard and Dijon. The mustard seeds add great flavor and texture. I've also made with boneless thighs, with and without skins. If using skin-on chicken, broil on high for the first 5-7 min. to brown/caramelize the skin, then lower heat to regular cooking temp for the remaining cooking time. This is when I loosely cover with foil to keep the chicken moist. Put the extra marinade right in with the chicke when baking because it makes a wonderful sauce over rice. Kid friendly flavors yet elegant enought for company. When I do have comapany, I grill this for more intense flavor and color. Also try this marinade with (grilled or baked Pork Tenderloin - SUPERB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
As a budding chef looking to expand my range of recipies, I could not be happier with this one!I have been browsing for some time for a great, unique chicken recipie that uses curry, and I have found it! I cut out some of the fat by using less butter than the recipie calls for and added olive oil to make up for part of the difference. I also doubled the amount of curry. To make this a more balanced, healthful meal, I experimented and added 1/2 package of frozen stir fry vegetables (found in the freezer section of my local grocer), and added them to the chicken while it marinated. To ensure that the vegetables remain tender but the chicken completely cooks, make sure to cover the pan during the initial 10-15 minutes of cooking at 375 degrees and then uncover and reduce the heat to about 350 degrees and cook for about another 25-30 minutes. Serve over a bed of jasmine rice,or cool and add to a bed of salad greens and enjoy! The end result should be a wonderful, tasty, unique meal that your family or guests will savor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I don't obsess about lowering the fat in everything I cook, so I ignored the previous reviews that cut down on the amount of butter and followed the instructions. If whisked well, a good emulsion forms and the butter is incorporated into the marinade properly. Olive oil does not create the emulsion properly and distorts the intended flavor. The results were excellent, but I found that the marinade overpowered the chicken. On my second attempt, I added a half teaspoon each of nutmeg and sage, which enhanced the flavor of the chicken and balanced the recipe. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is definitely going in the "family favorites" category. I was planning on making another honey mustard chicken recipe until I saw that this one called for curry. I thought curry would make a tasty twist to the usual honey mustard variety (got a little carried away with the curry but still tasted great!). After a few bites, my husband insisted that we have it again next week...and the week after that...pretty much EVERY week. I only used about 2 Tbsp light butter-flavored spread instead of the 1/3 C butter. I found that the sauce was still a good consistency. Next time though, I'll be sure to double the sauce so I'll have plenty to drizzle over rice. I love how the recipe only requires a few ingredients that I usually have on hand and the directions are very simple. Five stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I just LOVE this easy recipe. I have made it probably 4 times in just a few weeks. My husband doesn't like Dijon mustard at all, but he RAVES everytime I make this. The combination of the curry, honey and mustard make a wonderful sauce that everyone who tries it is suprised. Everyone always ask me how to make it , which is why I am online to print out the recipe for the 10th time! It's not what you may expect and it is worth the try to see just how tasty this is. My children love it too. I sometimes will add a little cumin to the recipe for extra punch of spice. Thanks for such a yummy recipe! **note: corn syrup will substitute for Honey if you are out or if you prefer*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
Very simple to make and excellent results. We grilled the chicken instead of baking and it was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I have made this twice now, and my husband and I just flipped over it. I was a little nervous of the large amount of curry powder, but it turned out to be a perfect balance of honey, mustard and curry. I actually made a double batch of the sauce the second time and baked all of it with the chicken. After the chicken was done, I plated it up on a bed of saffron rice with the extra sauce poured over all. YUM!! This is definitely a new staple recipe in my household that will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I have used this same recipe for a long time and find it to always be a hit. I don't think the butter is necessary and have never used it. Also if you are in a time crunch the marinating period can be done without. Finally for a little more flavor i would double the curry. This dish is great when served with stuffing and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Very easy and yummy! **** Made this for the second time almost 3 years later and it is just great! Wonderful flavor and super easy to prepare. My chicken came out so moist, tender and juicy. And there was plenty of sauce to spoon over brown rice. It seems like a lot of curry but it is not too much. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was easy to make and our entire family enjoyed it. I used brown mustard in place of the dijon and only marinated the chicken for 30 minutes, but the taste was still great. We served it with brown rice, which was a good compliment. Though, basmati probably would have been a better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States