Curried Ham Popover Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The recipe doesn't state what size pan to use so I went with a 9" cake pan - a 10" Cast Iron skillet would have worked better. The batter itself needs some salt - not a lot but without it the batter tastes pretty blah... I used red peppers instead of green and followed the recipe as written. This was just OK for us - nothing stunning but not bad either. If I were to make this again I would start with a really hot cast iron skillet and into the hot oven. It would probably have puffed a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was very good and very easy as well. I tripled the amount of curry to 1 1/2 tsp. Next time I will probably up it to 2 tsp and add some to the ham instead of just the batter. I also added mixed veggies and minced onions instead of peppers and green onions and threw in 1/2 tsp of baking powder to the batter. My three year old loved this too. I'm sure I'll make this again and experiment with different fillings and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Good and super-easy. I couldn't taste the curry at all, but my husband said it was good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
The only problem I had was guessing the size pan to put it in, I made the wrong choice and put it in one too large. Next time I will try a pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This tasted fine, however it was definitely more of a frittata than a popover. Perhaps if some baking powder was added to the extra mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I would make this again with the addition of brocalli, cheddar and delete the curry and green peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This makes a good breakfast for low-carbers sick to death of scrambled eggs. Modifications: I used 1/2 cup LC bake mix instead of 3/4 cup flour which reduced total carbs by 57 g, doubled the green pepper and added 1 cup of mushrooms. This brought carbohydrates to 6.8 g/serving instead of 17! The flavor was pretty good, but it was quite salty, probably due to the ham I used. Kids weren't huge fans, but I'd definitely do it again -- it's VERY EASY and a nice break from plain eggs in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Combined reading of recipe and its reviews before trying it. Agree with several reviewers that addition of vegetables enhances the recipe. It is a basic for a variety of meat/vegetable combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This was very good. I used smoked turkey lunchmeat, which I diced, and I used about 2 tsp or so of curry, and it came out great! Very easy. I would like to try this with other fillings and seasonings as well. Plenty of room for variation on this one...Thanks for the inspiring recipe, Roxanne!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
very good easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States