Curried Egg Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I agree that it is a great starter. I took an Indian twist with this one--double the curry, some cucumber, some onion, and some golden raisins (this makes it!). I also used half the amount of mayonnaise and substituted the rest with yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I'm giving this recipe a 4 instead of a 5 because as written I found it a little boring but it's a great start. We ended up adding some season salt, garlic, paprika, and a small onion. We found it too creamy and it did not make enough for 4 sandwiches so next time I will use 6 eggs and keep the mayo the same. That being said, it's a really great base to start with and we will be making this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
First I used a homemade coleslaw dressing instead of plain mayo. I used red onion. I didn't have any bread so I made some rolls with pancake mix. Just use a 2 to 1 ratio with milk. (2 cups mix, 1 cup milk.) Kneed the dough, on pancake floured surface. The biscuts were sweet, and it went great with the egg salad. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I really like the addition of curry to egg salad, however as another reviewer mentioned, the recipe as-is is rather boring. I jazzed mine up a bit with pickle relish, dash of mustard, red pepper, minced onion, and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Wow! The best egg sandwich ever! I use 12 grain bread, slightly toasted and it is just yummy! Everyone loves it. Thank you for sharing. God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I put a little minced celery and onion in mine, and doubled the eggs. I will never make egg salad without curry again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I always thought egg salad sandwiches were missing something. It was missing curry! Gives it a little tangy bite. Will use a little bit less curry in the future and add chopped green onion like I usually do... but this is a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I have been making a different version of this recipe for over 30 years (more like some of the other reviewers suggested). This concept is great, but it just doesn't have that extra *oomph* quality needed to make it truly outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was really good! I was looking for recipes to use eggs as I have an abundant supply right now. I love curry so really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
As is, I gave the recipe three stars. The egg salad tasted good but was missing oomph. Once I threw in green onions, olives, and celery it became a four star sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States