Curried Cumin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
We just had this tonight and it was fabulous. I thought the 2 t of salt was a bit much, so I cut that down. Only problem is between the two of us, we ate almost the WHOLE thing in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A truly delicious side dish! We had it with Basmati rice and Indian Chicken Curry II. I did follow the advice of a previous reviewer and reduced the salt to just 1 tsp.. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
A Keeper - you must like cumin and curry!!! Had to use regular potatoes - put them whole in jackets in water, brought to boil, boiled another 20 min. When cooled, peeled off jackets. Cut potatoes into 1/4 in. slices. Followed recipe - having to use a bit more oil than called for. They are great hot and at room temperature - and what little was left I ended up noshing on cold for a snack the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
these were delicious, mixed the salt in with the rest of the spices and only used one tsp as suggested by others...great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Chef Brian Aragon wrote: "A flavorful side dish of Indian cuisine. This dish blends the mild flavor of cumin with the unrelenting spice of curry. A truly engaging dish." "Curry" is a generic term for a powder which is a combination of many spices. As such, it's use in this dish may be seen as essentially redundent. Look at a container of "curry" and you will see many of the spices he added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Delicious! I have one suggestion. When I was in Nepal a year ago, I watched someone make this recipe, only minus the cilantro (a delicious variation!) and I think with some red pepper. To make the flavor go all the way through the potatoes, she simply fried cut raw potatoes with the spices, and at least 4 Tbls of oil, for about 5 minutes and then added water and then pressure cooked everything together. The flavor went all the way through the potatoes! I have done this with just a covered pot and let it cook longer. Glad this great dish is on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this dish last night and it was a huge hit! I also added liquid because I wanted more of a curry dish than a dry dish. I cut the potatoes first and then boiled them. I also used half of the turmeric powder. Once the potatoes were done, I drained them and added one bullion cube and 1 can of evaporated milk (could have also used a can of coconut milk but didn't have any) to them. Then mixed the spices with the dish and added salt to taste. I also loved the cilantro, it was a subtle yet great twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
We loved this recipe. I did follow the suggestions of reviewer Vane and they were great. I did have a can of coconut milk, I've never used it before, but, we thought they came out fantastic. I used a cube of veggie bouillion. We were debating mashing them or not, finally decided that would not be a good idea. Don't mash--not neccesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
YUM!! I thought I did boil the potatoes too long because they got squishy in the skillet but they did turn out well! I had to use cumin powder since I didn't have cumin and my curry powder already had tummeric in it so I just added a little more curry powder (we get our curry from the Vietnamese store). Very good!! Accopanied my baked curry chicken well! THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Awesome! keeping this one in my regular rotation. I did fry the spices first and just threw the raw potatos on top and fried those too. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States