Curried Cumin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Delicious! I have one suggestion. When I was in Nepal a year ago, I watched someone make this recipe, only minus the cilantro (a delicious variation!) and I think with some red pepper. To make the flavor go all the way through the potatoes, she simply fried cut raw potatoes with the spices, and at least 4 Tbls of oil, for about 5 minutes and then added water and then pressure cooked everything together. The flavor went all the way through the potatoes! I have done this with just a covered pot and let it cook longer. Glad this great dish is on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A truly delicious side dish! We had it with Basmati rice and Indian Chicken Curry II. I did follow the advice of a previous reviewer and reduced the salt to just 1 tsp.. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
A Keeper - you must like cumin and curry!!! Had to use regular potatoes - put them whole in jackets in water, brought to boil, boiled another 20 min. When cooled, peeled off jackets. Cut potatoes into 1/4 in. slices. Followed recipe - having to use a bit more oil than called for. They are great hot and at room temperature - and what little was left I ended up noshing on cold for a snack the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Chef Brian Aragon wrote: "A flavorful side dish of Indian cuisine. This dish blends the mild flavor of cumin with the unrelenting spice of curry. A truly engaging dish." "Curry" is a generic term for a powder which is a combination of many spices. As such, it's use in this dish may be seen as essentially redundent. Look at a container of "curry" and you will see many of the spices he added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this dish last night and it was a huge hit! I also added liquid because I wanted more of a curry dish than a dry dish. I cut the potatoes first and then boiled them. I also used half of the turmeric powder. Once the potatoes were done, I drained them and added one bullion cube and 1 can of evaporated milk (could have also used a can of coconut milk but didn't have any) to them. Then mixed the spices with the dish and added salt to taste. I also loved the cilantro, it was a subtle yet great twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
YUM!! I thought I did boil the potatoes too long because they got squishy in the skillet but they did turn out well! I had to use cumin powder since I didn't have cumin and my curry powder already had tummeric in it so I just added a little more curry powder (we get our curry from the Vietnamese store). Very good!! Accopanied my baked curry chicken well! THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Enjoyable recipe, I think next time I am going to try using the same ingredients but roast in the oven instead, also think I will reduce the turmeric to 1 teaspoon. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great taste! My daughter made this, using the salt called for, and we found that when going from basically a no salt diet to this, it was way too much! The flavor of the spices was lively, so the salt really was not needed. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were pretty good! All I had on hand were small-ish baking potatoes so I used those. I also omitted the oil and used cooking spray instead to make it healthier. I agree with other reviewers that this dish was a little dry, but it was still a really nice sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This dish is supposed to be eaten with dal (lentils) and roti/ rice. The lentils provide the liquid, that way the potatoes won't feel dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States