Curried Cumin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I took the advice of the reviewer who said to pan fry the potatoes in the seasoning prior to cooking. This definitely helped. I like a lot of spice and flavor, so the cilantro was a great addition. The potatoes were best the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A truly delicious side dish! We had it with Basmati rice and Indian Chicken Curry II. I did follow the advice of a previous reviewer and reduced the salt to just 1 tsp.. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
We just had this tonight and it was fabulous. I thought the 2 t of salt was a bit much, so I cut that down. Only problem is between the two of us, we ate almost the WHOLE thing in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this dish last night and it was a huge hit! I also added liquid because I wanted more of a curry dish than a dry dish. I cut the potatoes first and then boiled them. I also used half of the turmeric powder. Once the potatoes were done, I drained them and added one bullion cube and 1 can of evaporated milk (could have also used a can of coconut milk but didn't have any) to them. Then mixed the spices with the dish and added salt to taste. I also loved the cilantro, it was a subtle yet great twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
These were a little bitter for my taste. I'd use less turmeric next time. But they were still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe - my husband did in particular. I used pre-packaged diced potatoes with onions and made them in a snap. Great as a side dish with slow cooker pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
These were just ok. They were really pungent. I made Moroccan Chicken as the main dish, and when spooned over the potatoes it was really good. However, I probably will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Delicious! I have one suggestion. When I was in Nepal a year ago, I watched someone make this recipe, only minus the cilantro (a delicious variation!) and I think with some red pepper. To make the flavor go all the way through the potatoes, she simply fried cut raw potatoes with the spices, and at least 4 Tbls of oil, for about 5 minutes and then added water and then pressure cooked everything together. The flavor went all the way through the potatoes! I have done this with just a covered pot and let it cook longer. Glad this great dish is on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Mine came out a little salty for my taste. I'll try cutting all the spices in half next time. Otherwise, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
These potatoes were VERY tasty, but I only gave them 4 stars because I found them rather dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States