Curried Cumin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were pretty good! All I had on hand were small-ish baking potatoes so I used those. I also omitted the oil and used cooking spray instead to make it healthier. I agree with other reviewers that this dish was a little dry, but it was still a really nice sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
We loved this recipe. I did follow the suggestions of reviewer Vane and they were great. I did have a can of coconut milk, I've never used it before, but, we thought they came out fantastic. I used a cube of veggie bouillion. We were debating mashing them or not, finally decided that would not be a good idea. Don't mash--not neccesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I took the advice of the reviewer who said to pan fry the potatoes in the seasoning prior to cooking. This definitely helped. I like a lot of spice and flavor, so the cilantro was a great addition. The potatoes were best the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A truly delicious side dish! We had it with Basmati rice and Indian Chicken Curry II. I did follow the advice of a previous reviewer and reduced the salt to just 1 tsp.. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
We just had this tonight and it was fabulous. I thought the 2 t of salt was a bit much, so I cut that down. Only problem is between the two of us, we ate almost the WHOLE thing in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this dish last night and it was a huge hit! I also added liquid because I wanted more of a curry dish than a dry dish. I cut the potatoes first and then boiled them. I also used half of the turmeric powder. Once the potatoes were done, I drained them and added one bullion cube and 1 can of evaporated milk (could have also used a can of coconut milk but didn't have any) to them. Then mixed the spices with the dish and added salt to taste. I also loved the cilantro, it was a subtle yet great twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
These were a little bitter for my taste. I'd use less turmeric next time. But they were still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe - my husband did in particular. I used pre-packaged diced potatoes with onions and made them in a snap. Great as a side dish with slow cooker pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
These were just ok. They were really pungent. I made Moroccan Chicken as the main dish, and when spooned over the potatoes it was really good. However, I probably will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Delicious! I have one suggestion. When I was in Nepal a year ago, I watched someone make this recipe, only minus the cilantro (a delicious variation!) and I think with some red pepper. To make the flavor go all the way through the potatoes, she simply fried cut raw potatoes with the spices, and at least 4 Tbls of oil, for about 5 minutes and then added water and then pressure cooked everything together. The flavor went all the way through the potatoes! I have done this with just a covered pot and let it cook longer. Glad this great dish is on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States