Curried Couscous with Spinach and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
A very decent dish with a few personally motivated modifications. I omitted the sun dried tomatoes and dill because I'm not a fan of either and secondly I thought they (the sun dried tomatoes) might taste odd with the other ingredients. Instead I used what I had in the fridge which was a red bell pepper and two small tomatillos (which added a great tartness to the dish) It turned out very well with all of the other ingredients and to finish I mixed in a dollop of Greek yogurt to add a little acidic creaminess and make it almost korma like. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe; it was very filling and flavourful and my b-f loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I'm writing this directly after making and eating this dish for the first time. It is a very filling and hearty meal, which is something I look for when I cook vegetarian. -- I cooked it with golden couscous instead of whole wheat, omitted sun-dried tomatoes, and added about a 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes to it later in the process. Everything about this dish was good & I will likely consider making it on a monthly basis. The only thing I may consider altering further is adding a bit more veggie broth. The final product I made wasn't too dry but it could've been a little wetter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopHead
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Awesome exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Skipped the chickpeas, tossed in some chopped dates, added cumin. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I used less olive oil--just drizzled to my liking and used 2 large English cucumbers, seeded. Other than the tedious peeling and chopping of the fresh garlic, it was pretty quick. Next time I will just use my garlic press to speed things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Just didn't work for us. Good healthy concept but seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this as is and it was awesome. Omitting the sundries tomatoes and dill means you are making a different recipe. It was delicious just the way it called for. I used fresh spinach instead of previously frozen. If I had goat cheese in my fridge I would sprinkle that on top after dishing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe! Based on suggestions and supplies, I left out the tomato and dill and used fresh spinach. Everyone really liked it and I was firmly told to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sck1122
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very tasty! I omitted the dill and sun dried tomatoes. I added chopped par-boiled carrots and used chopped spring mix salad instead of the spinach. Also added a bit of garam masala. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States