Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Deserves it high rating. I found other reviewers tips very helpful. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
My boyfriend and I had been craving curry for a while now and wanted to start off with something easy to make as an introduction to cooking curries. I found this recipe and I'm so glad I did! It is amazing. I followed the recipe very closely. The only changes made were allowing the curry powder/oil mixture to cook for a bit longer and cooking the onions until they were translucent. Initially, cooking the powder for a bit made it look burnt, so I added a bit more oil. Just be sure to not add too much oil. I also added some cayenne pepper while it was simmering for a little more spice since my boyfriend loves spicy foods and it came out perfect. Definitely give this a shot if you're looking for a quick, easy, curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa Scott
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made for the first time tonight. Very flavourful. Love curry. Will make again. I made candy coriander carrots with mushroom and brown sugar on the side with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this several times and they always lick the plate clean! One of my kids has autism and serious sensory issues: SHE LOVES IT! I followed the "most critical" review and did not add the tomato sauce. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMKATIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I was looking for a quick chicken dinner to make tonight and I came across this one. It was amazing!!! I used 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast, 3 tablespoons of curry powder, 1 large yellow onion, and 4 cloves of garlic. I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes on hand so I used a 12 oz. jar of roasted red peppers without the liquid instead. I added about 1/2-1 teaspoon of fresh ground nutmeg and 1 tablespoon of red pepper flakes. Also I only simmered the stew for about 25 mins., any longer and the chicken would have been over cooked and dry. To thicken, I scooped out about 2 cups of the sauce and blended it with about 2 tablespoons of flour until all the lumps were out. Stirred the mixture back into the pot and simmered for another 5 minutes. PERFECTION!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Really mellow and the coconut milk makes it buttery. Real easy to make. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This has become an instant favorite. I left out the garlic and onions since hubby won't eat those, but in my opinion, it would be even yummier made as written! One reviewer advised using SWEETENED coconut milk ... NO NO NO! The Thai coconut milk in a can is what you want, and it is not sweetened. You are adding sugar already ... to use the sweetened coconut milk would be just too much, I think. Anyway, GREAT RECIPE, as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is an excellent curry for anyone new to making curry. Probably the MOST important thing to keep in mind when making a curry is that the quality of the curry powder (or paste) will mean the difference between a great dish and a poor dish. There are a lot of mediocre (at best) powders out there, and they will result in a mediocre dish. I can just about guarantee that the reviewers claiming this was "bland" used a mediocre (or old) powder. The second thing that I need to say is in response to the comment advising people to use sweetened coconut milk. With all due respect, this is not a good suggestion. I'm a seasoned (pun intended) curry maker, and I've never seen any recipe that called for sweetened coconut milk. Of course, the "correct" thing to do is what works best for your palate, but it's certainly not traditional to use sweetened coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Left out the sugar and was still a great sweetness from the coco milk. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reecy1009
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love this recipe!! My husband and daughter are from West Africa and I am constantly trying to find recipes that will satisfy their taste as well as my own. This recipe is one of the most delicious meals that I have ever made. I added 1 additional tablespoon of curry powder for extra flavor. I am definitely adding this to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecy1009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States