Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe as written and I loved the recipe, but I think the sauce was sweet and did not have a strong curry flavor.That said, the recipe was very good. Next time I will decrease the sugar to 1 tablespoon, increase curry powder to 4 tablespoons and add heat by way of red chili flakes or diced jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have never made ck yellow curry from scratch. I've always had Indonesian yellow curry sauce in a package and added it to the ingredients with coconut milk. I'm so thankful to find this recipe yesterday. My inlaw and husband enjoyed it so much and my picky toddler daughters ate without any complaints. :) However, I added carrots (cut diagonally) & cubed potatoes, hence used less cauliflower. Did not use tomatoes. Used regular coconut milk (so I didn't have to put in Brown sugar like other reviewers recommended). Used more curry powder than recommended and used "better than buillon" because I didn't have chicken stock. Used hawaiian salt and white grounded pepper in the end and it was absolutely delicious!! Mahalo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This dish served as the perfect opportunity to introduce my meat-and-potatoes loving, hillbilly husband to Indian food. Success! He chowed down on that stew like nobody's business and even took some to work. (I warned him about the, uh...pungent curry aroma that would linger around the break room when he reheats it at work, but he insisted!) I added a little extra onion and garlic, a bell pepper, three carrots, and three russet potatoes. I made sure everything was well-coated in the curry oil and sauteed them a good ten minutes before adding the chicken. Instead of the stewed tomatoes, I subbed with a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes since that's all I had. I used coconut milk from the carton (Kroger's Simple Truth Coconut Milk). For the curry, I used Penzey's Sweet Curry Powder. The sauce was too sweet for my liking when I tasted it halfway during the cooking process; I ended up adding about a 1/4 cup more of tomato sauce and a few splashes of coconut milk to balance it out. I was in a rush when I was making this, so I simmered it uncovered for around 45 minutes and the stew was perfectly thick. I'm sure the starch in the potatoes helped to thicken it out, too. Serve with rice and garlic naan and you've got yourself a rich, creamy, and comforting stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this recipe! I add crushed peanuts (or a spoonful of natural peanut butter), diced cilantro, garbanzo beans and a can of tomato paste...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This was soooo good! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roberts, Idaho, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was so bland and boring. My experience is that 90% of the recipes I have tried were 4 stars or better. This was the only one I have given less than 3 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I cut the sugar to 2 Tbsp, but otherwise kept all the sauce ingredients the same as the original recipe called for. I used 2.75 lbs of chicken tenderloin, but only the amount of sauce for 2 lbs as written. I simmered uncovered as many reviewers suggested. From start to finish it took about an hour. The sauce thickened beautifully and was delicious. I loved it, and even my picky husband (who had sworn off anything made with curry) enjoyed it and said he would not object to me making it again. Next time I'll slice my onions a teensy bit thicker and maybe use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Boyfriend is a very picky Eater, and he loved it. Served it with Pasta for dinner and with Rice the next day for lunch. I did tweak the recipe added allot more curry, and seasoned the hell out of my chicken, seared it and chucked it into the crock pot. Almost worth smelling curry for two days lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Very nice as is! Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States