Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
absolutely amazing! I added some baby shrimps to the recipe too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalia El-guindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
LOVE this recipe. Make it often. I agree with Cook Stephanie about cooking the "broth" before adding the chicken. I always cook the curry powder or paste, depends on what I have but high quality is very important, with the oil and I also add oil as I go, even before I add the onion and garlic if I need to. I cook the paste with the oil for at least 5 minutes then add the onion, (1/2 onion roughly chopped), and garlic, (I use 4 cloves), and cook for another 10 minutes or so...adding oil if necessary. I use chicken thighs instead of breast, the flavor is better and there is more fat in the meat. I add chicken and cook over medium heat until the chicken is just done. I also agree with Cook Stephanie that fresh tomato is better but organic diced canned works too. I add the tomatoes, coconut milk, sugar and let it cook. I usually add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste and let it simmer to the right consistency, then correct the seasoning. Sometimes I chop a bell pepper and throw it in the sauce for the last 20 minutes. Great with any rice and veggie combination. This is a go to recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
My husband loves this one! Id reduce the sugar to 2tbs and add one teaspoon of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gicharu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This recipe depends greatly on the curry you use. I get my curry from Maine... the company name is Gryffon Ridge. I like their Ivory Coast curry blend. The Jamaica or Sri Lankan are good blends as well, Sri Lankan being the mildest. I have a friend who makes this and does not heat the curry and oil... not a good flavor. This step activiates the curry, so to speak; just don't breathe in the fumes!!!!!!! Anyway, I follow the directions to the letter except that I simmer it for about 1.5 hours. I really like this dish. The flavor (if you use a good curry) is excellent. I serve this with Basmati Rice, as the flavors marry very well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Made this tonight, and it's fantabulous. Yes, I made a few changes as I didn't have any canned tomatoes or tomato sauce so I chopped up 6 fresh tomatoes. Also added a little extra salt, some dried crushed red pepper flakes, and for color I added about 1/4 package of frozen 3-pepper and onion blend. Will definitely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChihuahuaMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beau McDowell
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Just made this recipe. Loved it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love this recipe! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the stewed tomatoes tasted bitter. However, I spooned them out and it was amazing. I will be making this again. I served it over basmati rice and sprinkled just a little bit of sweetened shredded coconut flakes on top. And my family went wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Followed the recipe to the T... I did have to simmer the broth a lot longer than 45 minutes though. This was a huge hit with my family, even the kids. I served it with basmati rice and some squash and carrots on the side. This will be in my normal rotation for dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this last night for my husband and he absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out good. Put it on rice with some Naan bread. Will make again. Easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States