Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I was looking for a quick chicken dinner to make tonight and I came across this one. It was amazing!!! I used 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast, 3 tablespoons of curry powder, 1 large yellow onion, and 4 cloves of garlic. I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes on hand so I used a 12 oz. jar of roasted red peppers without the liquid instead. I added about 1/2-1 teaspoon of fresh ground nutmeg and 1 tablespoon of red pepper flakes. Also I only simmered the stew for about 25 mins., any longer and the chicken would have been over cooked and dry. To thicken, I scooped out about 2 cups of the sauce and blended it with about 2 tablespoons of flour until all the lumps were out. Stirred the mixture back into the pot and simmered for another 5 minutes. PERFECTION!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Really mellow and the coconut milk makes it buttery. Real easy to make. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This has become an instant favorite. I left out the garlic and onions since hubby won't eat those, but in my opinion, it would be even yummier made as written! One reviewer advised using SWEETENED coconut milk ... NO NO NO! The Thai coconut milk in a can is what you want, and it is not sweetened. You are adding sugar already ... to use the sweetened coconut milk would be just too much, I think. Anyway, GREAT RECIPE, as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is an excellent curry for anyone new to making curry. Probably the MOST important thing to keep in mind when making a curry is that the quality of the curry powder (or paste) will mean the difference between a great dish and a poor dish. There are a lot of mediocre (at best) powders out there, and they will result in a mediocre dish. I can just about guarantee that the reviewers claiming this was "bland" used a mediocre (or old) powder. The second thing that I need to say is in response to the comment advising people to use sweetened coconut milk. With all due respect, this is not a good suggestion. I'm a seasoned (pun intended) curry maker, and I've never seen any recipe that called for sweetened coconut milk. Of course, the "correct" thing to do is what works best for your palate, but it's certainly not traditional to use sweetened coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Left out the sugar and was still a great sweetness from the coco milk. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reecy1009
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love this recipe!! My husband and daughter are from West Africa and I am constantly trying to find recipes that will satisfy their taste as well as my own. This recipe is one of the most delicious meals that I have ever made. I added 1 additional tablespoon of curry powder for extra flavor. I am definitely adding this to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecy1009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is delicious! Thank you ROMA for the recipe I've been wanting for years after having in a Thai restaurant! My boyfriend and I made this together, using chicken thighs instead of breasts because we really wanted the meat to remain moist. We used a mixture of curries, including Penzy's sweet curry (yum), red curry paste, and a curry powder that I got at an Indian store. We added two minced serrano's for added heat. Chaokoh coconut milk was the PERFECT product for this-nice and thick and I highly recommend it. We drained the tomatoes, added a pinch of lemongrass, only 2 tablespoons of sugar, and simmered uncovered for less than thirty minutes and it was perfectly thick, lucious, and creamy. Even though we used all the tomato products (minus the drained liquid), this did not have a strong tomato flavor or even a red color. It was a golden orange- probably because most of our curry was the yellow variety. Served with Indian jeera rice (which includes cumin seed) and a cold chick pea and cucumber salad. You deserve all five stars for sure! Can't wait to eat the leftovers and make again! Now- to everyone who had disappointing results I just want to say how important it is to use high quality ingredients- especially the curry mixture and coconut milk. The spice is such a dominant flavor in the dish that a substandard mixture could very well ruin it. It's hard to end with a quality dish if you don't start with quality ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My boys love it and request this dish as often as I am willing to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheathamama
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This dish was very delicious! The only thing I did differently was use fresh tomatoes and curry paste. My guys loved it including my very picky 5 year old. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheathamama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Indiana, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe was awesome! Followed the recipe almost exactly, and I was surprised how good it was. Rarely use coconut milk, so I don't know if that was the secret ingredient, but this will certainly be a recipe I will make again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States