Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I would say 3.8 stars it was surprisingly good, especially considering that we are not huge curry fans. My yougest liked it too, so even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This dish was amazing. I normally don't mix a lot of different ingredients together, but have been forced to get out of my comfort zone because I have grown bored with my cooking. I'm breaking out of my shell with this dish. Instead of using chicken I used Talapia. I also used only about 10% of my can of tomato sauce. Other than that, I followed the recipe. It's delicious served over jasmine rice. My sister was even impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I've made this recipe 3 times now and it has turned out great each time. I made a few slight changes, as another suggested I let the onions cook longer in the curry, about five minutes, before adding the chicken. I also substituted cubed boneless chicken thighs and thought they were almost more tender when used in a recipe that has to simmer for a long time. Instead of using a 14oz can of diced tomatoes and a 14oz can of tomato sauce, I just used one 28oz can of the diced tomatoes. I also reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp and added a splash of rice wine vinegar to make the sauce more balanced. Finally, to let the flavor really develop I simmered the sauce for at least 1.5 hours, until the tomatoes start to break down. This is excellent with steamed jasmin rice and tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Love this recipe. I recommend it even if you don't like all of the ingredients. My family does not like: onions, tomato's, or coconut. We do however like Indian food. I cook my onions and curry powder in olive oil until the onions are translucent. Add some minced garlic and cook until browned. Add whole peeled tomato's (can or fresh)with juice to make sure I get all the curry out of the pan. I then poor everything but chicken into blender and blend until smooth. I then add my sauce, chicken, and cut up potato's to my tagine (clay cooking pot), marinate for 1-2 hours, and cook at 275 for 4-6 hours. Family loves and house smells amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This "Curried Coconut Chicken" is the perfect "comfort meal." I couldn't stop eating it! I watched the ALLRECIPESWHAT'S COOKING? video of ROMA (the recipe submitter) preparing the recipe and learned a few important tidbits that do not appear in the written recipe: (i) it is a "fusion" curry (multicultural); (ii) ROMA makes hers using a West Indian curry power (from Trinidad and Tobago); (iii) she would use dried hot peppers to give it some heat if desired (optional); and (iv) she uses sugar to bring out the sweetness of the coconut milk. The next time I make this recipe I will leave out the sweetener because I use a naturally sweet coconut milk. Thank you ROMA for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Wonderful! Such great flavor, my family LOVES this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Yummers! My boyfriend only eats chicken and seafood, so I am always looking for new recipes so I am not bored to tears. I made this recipe as written and must say that it was very tasty. It was a little bit runny after simmering for nearly an hour, but I added cornstarch towards the end to thicken it. The next time I will reduce the liquid and add a little heat to balance the sweetness..maybe a little crushed red pepper or cayenne pepper. At any rate, I loved it and my honey did, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne5
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
My family loved this and giving it a A. Definitely will cook again. Very easy & have the cans on hand would be good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Really good! The only thing I left out of the original recipe was the sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I don't think it needs the sugar. I will definitely make this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I added a third of a bottle of beer and about another tsp of salt to 'tame' the dominant sweet coconut flavor. We liked it this way better, but the original recipe is yummy too. I also added about another cup of water to make it go further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States