Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made it as written, but didn't care for the strong tomato taste. Like canned soup, as another reviewer said. I fixed it by adding waaay more curry and some half and half. Then it was good, but I missed having some potatoes in it, and maybe peas. I think I'll try a different curry recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It was really bland. I was expecting a nice curry kick. If I were to make it again I'd add a LOT more curry powder and less tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Thank you but too mild. I agree with another review that said "It tasted like canned tomato soup" with coconut milk and mild curry flavor. My family agreed. Of course, we love spicy so this recipe was way too mild for us even after adding some ingredients of my own. I'll go back to the other curry recipe I have. For those of you who prefer mild curry, you might like this...just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Very delicious. I served it with turmeric brown rice and dhal. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Didnt change a thing... Was very good... My mother and my kids were quite happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I had this amazing chicken curry in some obscure Indian restaurant in Manhattan 14 years ago. I had tried to come up with a similar thing for years, and finally gave up. Then one day I tried this recipe and it was very, very similar. We love it. It has become a staple dinner in our home. I do a few things just a little differently. I only add 1 tbs of sugar and sometimes an extra tbs of curry powder. And I don't simmer it a long time. I just fry the onion, garlic, olive oil, curry powder, salt, and pepper together until the chicken is cooked. Then I add the coconut milk, simmer for like 5 minutes, then the tomatoes and sugar and simmer for 5 more minutes. The total time usually takes between 20 and 30 minutes to have a yummy, simple dinner on the table for my 10 children and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Pretty good. I was looking for a recipe to use the chicken I thawed and use the can of coconut milk I had. I used chicken thighs instead of breast; and I only had 1 can of fire roasted diced tomatoes and no tomato sauce (I think it would have been too tomato-y). Other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out well, but a little too sweet (and I even reduced the sugar to 2 tablespoons). I will amke it again though because the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My husband loves this. He likes extra diced up tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Made this for the first time and it was delicious!! Very easy to make. I followed the recipe as is, I just added more chicken but the sauce was more than enough. Can't wait to make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
The flavors were amazing; used 2 tbsp Jamaican curry and added peas in last 6 or 7 minutes of simmering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,864) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States