Curried Citrus Quinoa with Raisins and Toasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was delicious and a great way to incorporate quinoa into my meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I had had a salad like this about a week ago and wanted the recipe, stumbled across this one and was so happy. This is so simple, with a lot a flavour, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was delicious! I made for a picnic lunch side dish and it travelled beautifully. I only added the almonds upon serving (packed them seperately) to preserve the crunch. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Yummy!!! I didn't use all the sauce- it was a bit much for me, and I added an extra dash of curry at the end (just to suit my taste). Amazingly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Really simple and full of flavor! Hubby and I both loved it. I made it exactly as written, except for one thing - I used dried currants instead of raisins. I'll definitely be making this again. It reminds me of the awesome fresh salad-bar items you get from a certain over-priced "natural" food market. There was the perfect amount for the both of us to have a side for dinner, and a nice lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
so glad I tried this, I really enjoyed the mix of ingredients. The citrus really brightens it up and brings out all the flavors. I am usually really picky but this was super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was my first time eating this grain. When I read ingredients it reminded me of one of my favorite Thai dishes pineapple fried rice. So I used pineapple juice instead of lemon and added some chunks of pineapple to it. Then I replaced part of the water it called for to soak cook quinoa into pan with this dressing mixture and served hot. I was right! It was outstanding!!! I also don't like raisins so I used dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooka324

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I really like this recipe . . . it is fresh and spicy. Instead of raisins I use dried cranberries for a little more kick. Also, roasted sunflower seeds work in a pinch if you are out of almonds. All around, lots of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Agreed that not all the dressing is necessary-- just pour some on, taste, and add until you're satisfied. I had extra. I also agree that you do not need to wait for this dish to chill before eating it--it was great both warm and at room temperature. We also found that cumin works fine in place of the curry powder if you don't have curry. We thought it made only about three servings, so I would certainly double this if I had enough ingredients. It is a delicious curry-flavored dish, so if you don't like curry, you won't like this (reminds me of curried couscous salad).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was very good! I had no almonds on hand, so I used peanuts instead. I also added kidney beans to make it a bit more hearty. The mellow sweetness of the raisins and nuts provided an excellent contrast to the vibrant curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States