Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This recipe was very good. My husband who is a picky eater really enjoyed the sweetness of the rice and the curry in the chicken. I changed it a bit because I always try to cater to likes and dislikes. I doubled the amount of curry, added about 1/4 of peanut oil, 1/2 of water,some fresh garlic and ginger and mixed this all together in a ziploc and marinated the chicken in it for about 2 hours. Instead of white wine I only had rice wine and it was yummy. I also followed the advice of browning the breasts. I kept them seperate and seved them on the side. I added a bit of green onion at the end. Very good recipe, we will definately have this again soon and with company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I tried this on my family first. I cook for a house for troubled young men so I wanted something different to try. I'll add more curry powder on chicken next time. Rice is excellent and the whole thing took very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I actually made this recipe as-is, save for cubing the chicken before tossing it in the pot. It was pretty good. I'll probably take the advice of the other reviewers regarding a little onion and garlic next time because the original recipe was missing something, but it wasn't obvious as to what. Definately a recipe that I'll toy around with, but close to perfect already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Not impressed with the recipe as it stands, but if I had taken the time to read other reviews I would have added more ingredients and browned the chicken. My husband enjoyed the dish, but I felt it needed more flavor. Also, about 1/2 of our rice was crunchy - needed more water and occasional stirring, but this could be due to our old pot lids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Very Nice. Well received dinner at my table. I too saute'd onions and garlic ( left out the ginger because my curry already had sufficient heat ) and browned the chicken. This was excellent with a vegie melange side dish that included green peas and some apples for sweetness to offset the heat of my balti curry powder. The mango was a great addition to the rice. We will have this again .. and it makes a great lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was sooo good. I had several fresh mangoes on hand and needed a recipe. So where do all the best cooks go? Here of course. I didn't have any parsley or wine on hand. I know, I couldn't believe it either. I doubled up on the broth to make up the difference. The only things I would change is to add more rice. It was wonderful. I cubed my chicken as others suggested and also did the onion\garlic\ginger combo before hand. I also added more curry. Can't tell you how much because I don't measure, but I would guess I doubled the amount called for. Oh I was about to forget the most amazing thing about this recipe. My five year old ate it and LIKED it. Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe. Especially the rice, I couldn't get enough. I did take the advice to brown the chicken first as well as the onion garlic ginger mixture....I also used a full cup of white wine. I don't think the recipe would could have done without the ginger. Wonderful!! The smell is fantastic and it is so simple. My eight year old loved it too. Next time I think I will cube the chicken or Marinade before hand for a more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Very yummy and a great meal to make just for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Yummy! I went looking for a recipe to use up my mangos and this hit the spot. I took someone else's advice and browned the seasoned chicken first, then sauteed some chopped onion and...ginger (it said garlic, but I remembered wrong). It was yummy. I went a little heavier on the curry as we're fans and used seasoned salt instead of regular. If it weren't for the kids I'd have added some heat with cayenne. Next time I might dice the chicken up in the rice and serve that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
The chicken came out perfectly and very tasty. The only change I would make is to add curry to the rice as well, but this is personal preference since we love curry! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States