Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
We enjoyed this meal last night but it wasn't the best chicken dish I've ever had. I took everyone's advice and cubed the chicken but I think I should have waited to put it in with the rice for a little while because it was somewhat dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Island City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I cubed the chicken, but otherwise made this recipe as directed. It was ... okay (*shrug*). Edible, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I was surprised that these ingredients -and I did make the changes that other reviewers suggested- combined to make such a boring meal. Not bad, just not good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I thought this recipe was very bland and dry. The chicken turned out tough. I was using a homemade curry powder from an Indian friend and I have made other curry dishes that turned out great, so it wasn't the curry powder. I ended up making a quick coconut curry sauce to pair with this meal so it would have some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I added garlic to the curry, and onions to the rice. I used less chicken broth (powder) than supposed to and it turned out just perfect! Everyone seemed to enjoy this wonderful meal! ^^b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by x_andy_x

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portneuf, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This recipe didn't do anything for us. The rice ended up very starchy and the taste was overwhelmed by the chicken broth. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I browned the chicken first then added the rice and other ingredients. I also added light coconut milk and pepper in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I decided to add the mango at the end so it wouldn't get mushy. My husband said to be sure to put this recipe on the "rotation".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This recipe had incredible flavor, was such a change from the normal boring chicken recipe. I did take the advice of others and tweak it a bit....I marinated the chicken all day in 2 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, black pepper and salt, then sauteed until just done and golden brown in skillet, removing chicken then adding 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 cup of vidalia onion and a dash of olive oil. When the onion was just translucent I added the chicken broth (which I increased to 1 1/2 cups per someone else's recommendation, we don't like crisp rice) and all other ingredients. Near the end I added the chicken, cubed, back in along with an additional 1 tsp of curry, red pepper flakes, a dash of cayenne for some heat (using Madras curry powder, not enough heat for us!) and the result was an absolute fantastic dish that my husband is still raving about. The mangoes added a wonderful sweet tartness that went so well with the curry and slight pop from the cayenne. I also added grated carrot and thawed frozen peas in the last 10 minutes or so which gave us a great, healthy meal in less than an hour, and only one dish to wash!!! Please try this recipe, and Thank You! Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made this recipe as written and found it to be dissapointing and lacking (enough) flavor. Def. needed something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This recipe was very good. My husband who is a picky eater really enjoyed the sweetness of the rice and the curry in the chicken. I changed it a bit because I always try to cater to likes and dislikes. I doubled the amount of curry, added about 1/4 of peanut oil, 1/2 of water,some fresh garlic and ginger and mixed this all together in a ziploc and marinated the chicken in it for about 2 hours. Instead of white wine I only had rice wine and it was yummy. I also followed the advice of browning the breasts. I kept them seperate and seved them on the side. I added a bit of green onion at the end. Very good recipe, we will definately have this again soon and with company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States