Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
My family loves rice so I doubled the amount of rice, broth, water and wine. I also used Rice Wine in place of white wine and chopped and seared the chicken along with cubed chuck roast. And I also used fresh parsley because it's growing in the yard :) OH and I couldn't find the curry for the life of me so I used one of the Golden Curry rectangles and chopped it up and rubbed it on with turmeric and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrisCraftyShop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was ok. It was my 1st recipe using Curry. Both my hubby & kids said I didn't need to make it again. It was very bland, even though I took other's comments and added more curry. I thought the rice was good, even though a little on the sweet side. Being that I live in Honduras I'm always willing to try new recipes with Mango as it is my favorite fruit and bountiful during mango season. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great meal. I added more curry powder and 1/2 cup of coconut milk. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I made this just as the recipe said, and the chicken tasted good, but the rice was not cooked enough even though I cooked it for an extra 10 minutes. Also, I usually enjoy mangoes but the broth gave them a salty-sweet taste which I didn't care for. Perhaps it would be better to cook the rice separate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Used rice as a side dish with fish. Added fresh asparagus pieces with the mango. Pretty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I am a huge fan of mangoes so I had to try this recipe. I enjoyed it but I think I'll make a few tweaks to it the next time I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by withlovejaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Good simple weeknight meal. I used brown rice (all I had) so my cook time was longer. Also added half a red onion to the rice and some grated ginger. I marinated some shrimp in sirracha and white wine and sautéed separately since they would be overcooked if cooked with the rice. Will try again with chicken. Definiately marinate the protein otherwise it could be a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe and I didn't even have the mango for it. I plan on making it again soon with the mango. Maybe I will have to adjust my rating, but I can't imagine why I would want to do that. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Menna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Wow, this was delicious--I know I'll make this over and over again! For such a fast, easy dish, I didn't expect it to have such perfect flavor. The mango and curry combination is divine. As others suggested, I cubed the chicken and added more curry powder. I didn't have wine, so I used all chicken stock in place of water and wine. Next time, I might try adding crushed red pepper to give it a tropical heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I marinate the chicken in 3 tbs curry, 1 tbs ginger and some fresh ground pepper. Then put them in the oven while the rice cooks. I also use coconut milk in the rice instead of water and wine. It's really good, like easy, healthy, comfort food. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States