Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This recipe had incredible flavor, was such a change from the normal boring chicken recipe. I did take the advice of others and tweak it a bit....I marinated the chicken all day in 2 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, black pepper and salt, then sauteed until just done and golden brown in skillet, removing chicken then adding 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 cup of vidalia onion and a dash of olive oil. When the onion was just translucent I added the chicken broth (which I increased to 1 1/2 cups per someone else's recommendation, we don't like crisp rice) and all other ingredients. Near the end I added the chicken, cubed, back in along with an additional 1 tsp of curry, red pepper flakes, a dash of cayenne for some heat (using Madras curry powder, not enough heat for us!) and the result was an absolute fantastic dish that my husband is still raving about. The mangoes added a wonderful sweet tartness that went so well with the curry and slight pop from the cayenne. I also added grated carrot and thawed frozen peas in the last 10 minutes or so which gave us a great, healthy meal in less than an hour, and only one dish to wash!!! Please try this recipe, and Thank You! Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I browned the chicken first then added the rice and other ingredients. I also added light coconut milk and pepper in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I decided to add the mango at the end so it wouldn't get mushy. My husband said to be sure to put this recipe on the "rotation".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I made this the other night for my boyfriend (who loves mangoes) and I have never seen a bigger smile on his face. I ended up adding about a 1/2 cup of coconut milk at the last 5 minutes and it was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K23KoR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I loved this recipe but I changed it up a bit. First, I browned the chicken in olive oil for a couple minutes per side. I took the chicken out of the pan and added garlic and onions and cooked until carmelized (about four minutes). Then I added the rest of the ingredients. I did not have any wine on hand, so I used ALIZE instead - a blend of natural passion fruit juices and cognac liquor. It really brought out the flavour of the mango. A very nice and easy dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Very Nice. Well received dinner at my table. I too saute'd onions and garlic ( left out the ginger because my curry already had sufficient heat ) and browned the chicken. This was excellent with a vegie melange side dish that included green peas and some apples for sweetness to offset the heat of my balti curry powder. The mango was a great addition to the rice. We will have this again .. and it makes a great lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was sooo good. I had several fresh mangoes on hand and needed a recipe. So where do all the best cooks go? Here of course. I didn't have any parsley or wine on hand. I know, I couldn't believe it either. I doubled up on the broth to make up the difference. The only things I would change is to add more rice. It was wonderful. I cubed my chicken as others suggested and also did the onion\garlic\ginger combo before hand. I also added more curry. Can't tell you how much because I don't measure, but I would guess I doubled the amount called for. Oh I was about to forget the most amazing thing about this recipe. My five year old ate it and LIKED it. Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I liked this recipe a lot since I never cooked with curry before and liked it, and the fact that it was soooo easy to make since it was cooked in one pan. Seeing other reviews, I tried adding a little more flavor to it by sauteing some garlic and shallots in a little oil beforehand. I also covered the chicken in curry and seasonings. I thought the chicken turned out a little tough and next time I will cook it a few minutes shorter than the 20-25 minutes. (I also believe that if the chicken was marinated first and a little more seasonings were added to the rice for a little kick, it would be a little tastier). All in all, it's an easy meal that looks and tastes like you've spent more time on it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very good. I also tweaked this after reading some other reviews. I chunked the chicken and marinated it with curry, fresh ginger and S&P for an hour. In a skillet I cooked the chicken with some olive oil, removed it and then added 2 cloves of chopped garlic and the rest of the ingredients. I substituted jasmine rice which needs more liquid, so I increased the broth to one 14 ounce can and added equal amounts of water and wine, as needed, re-seasoning with curry, S&P, to taste to the additional liquid. I added the chicken and mango at the last minute to the pan, just stirring to heat the chicken back up. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I tried this on my family first. I cook for a house for troubled young men so I wanted something different to try. I'll add more curry powder on chicken next time. Rice is excellent and the whole thing took very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I added garlic to the curry, and onions to the rice. I used less chicken broth (powder) than supposed to and it turned out just perfect! Everyone seemed to enjoy this wonderful meal! ^^b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by x_andy_x

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portneuf, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States