Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Absolutely loved this recipe! Very easy to make, but looks like you spent a lot of time preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
EASY!!!!!! This is a simple recipe that tastes like you worked a long time to prepare. My husband & I both thought this was a keeper. Since I didn't have chicken broth, I used chicken bouillon with water to make the broth. I also used instant rice. I had never used mango before & I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This was soooo easy and amazingly delicious! I didn't have any white wine on hand, so I used vermouth. I also substituted chicken boullion and water for the chicken broth. The rice was amazing and complemented the chicken perfectly. And the best part? This all happened in one pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This was very easy. Didn't have the wine, so just added the whole can of chicken broth. Parts of the rice was crunchy, so i added more water. I would just add 1/3 cup more water to the recipe. it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This dish was good. My husband, who doesn't like curry, enjoyed it, so it must be good! A nice way to try something different, & very easy to make to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I just threw it all in the pan and in less than a half hour I was eatin good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
A very plain recipe with nothing special to offer. Although it was easy and a fast meal, it was lacking more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by david4ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I liked this recipe a lot since I never cooked with curry before and liked it, and the fact that it was soooo easy to make since it was cooked in one pan. Seeing other reviews, I tried adding a little more flavor to it by sauteing some garlic and shallots in a little oil beforehand. I also covered the chicken in curry and seasonings. I thought the chicken turned out a little tough and next time I will cook it a few minutes shorter than the 20-25 minutes. (I also believe that if the chicken was marinated first and a little more seasonings were added to the rice for a little kick, it would be a little tastier). All in all, it's an easy meal that looks and tastes like you've spent more time on it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I changed this slightly and softened an onion, garlic and ginger before adding the liquid and rice. I also used 1 cup of wine instead of half water half wine and added frozen peas in the last 10 mins. This makes a nice, easy, inexpensive one dish meal. It's not like what you would get at your local Indian restaurant but it hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I loved this recipe but I changed it up a bit. First, I browned the chicken in olive oil for a couple minutes per side. I took the chicken out of the pan and added garlic and onions and cooked until carmelized (about four minutes). Then I added the rest of the ingredients. I did not have any wine on hand, so I used ALIZE instead - a blend of natural passion fruit juices and cognac liquor. It really brought out the flavour of the mango. A very nice and easy dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States