Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe is amazingly flavorful and super easy! I love that it can all cook in one pan. That being said, browning the chicken first is a good idea; it may not get done all the way through at the low temp for the rice. I also took the recommendation to saute some garlic and onion in the pan before starting the rice, and the flavors really complemented the sweetness of the mango. I recommend using jasmine rice. Just add an extra 1/2 cup of liquid (preferably water or broth). For a more intense curry flavor, marinating the chicken 4-8 hours lets the spice seep into the meat. Delicious! A different flavor from the usual without being overpowering or objectionable--even my two-year-old ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Brissman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Chicken a little dry but otherwise tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I can't give this 5 stars because I changed it. I followed the first step of the recipe and put the chicken in the oven to bake. I only used chicken broth (no wine) with the rice and cooked it stovetop with the brown sugar and parsley. When the chicken was almost done, I added ginger, a dash of garlic powder, mango and sliced peaches to the chicken. Then I let the fruit warm slightly to blend the flavors. Served it over the rice with a dash of red pepper flake. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Yummy! I did the garlic and oil too. I also cut the chicken into strips. Hoping my hubby likes, it was way too easy to make. Thought I was doing something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe, and easy weeknight dish. I used low fat coconut milk and skipped the broth; you may need to add a little water (depending on how long you simmer it.) It is one of the best chicken recipes I've found on allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Overall great, although brown rice took waaaay longer to cook than 20-25 mins in the recipe. I added more curry and didn't use wine at all. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We LOVED this! Our mangos were bearly ripe and lended a zing to this dish. Thank you Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A little bland. I would add more curry powder to the rice itself and some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Fantastic - I added another 1/2 cup of wine to rice and will brown chicken first next time, since I lost some of the flavor when boiled with the rice. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great flavour. The mango made it nice, and sweeter... more curry maybe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States