Curried Chicken and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was excellent! I made a few adjustments. I used apricot preserves instead of chutney (what I had on hand), omitted the pepper since I didn't have any, and substituted cucumber for celery (don't like celery). I also used regular salt, added more curry powder for flavor and some cayenne pepper for spice. I also added chopped cashews because the flavors blend well (and I didn't have any pine nuts). Definitely marinate overnight- it makes a difference and marries the flavors well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
My husband loved this but if I make this again I would take other reviewers advice and add less rice. The only thing I left out was the pine nuts as I couldn't get any. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
even the kids loved this side dish! i didn't use mayo, i thought it looked creamy enough already. i also couldn't find any chutney so i used peach preserves. yyyyuuuuuummmmmyyyyyyy! can't wait to spring this one on my mother in law! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Great salad! I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream with good results- I may try nonfat plain yogurt next time and maybe slightly less rice as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Very easy and very good. I used plain yogurt (not low-fat) instead of the sour cream, and added a little more mayo. I used chopped red and green peppers instead of celery, and added chopped cashews instead of pine nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
we really liked the flavors of this dish!! the result is more of a sticky sort of rice, due to the chutney and such. a really nice change from the ordinary rice salad for a summer meal. i ended up with cranberry chutney instead of the mango as that was all that was avail, and omitted the pine nuts as i was out. all in all, worth the effort!! many compliments on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Very good and flavorful recipe. I used peach preserves, added cayenne pepper as someone else suggested, and omitted the pine nuts. Otherwise, I did everything else the same. Took it to work and had several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I've twice made this recipe for large groups of people and had nothing but good reviews. Very easy to make and surpisingly fill with flavour. I'm always shocked at how far a little curry goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Excellent recipe - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
I made this years ago, and then lost the recipe. It's as good as I remembered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States