Curried Chicken and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was very tasty. I basically followed the recipe, although I did add a large handful of chopped basil just because I had it on hand, and it complemented the flavor very nicely. I substituted a half cup of blanched slivered almonds for the pine nuts. I also used a whole red pepper, chopped--this wasn't too much, but I wouldn't add more than that. It has a very creamy texture--one could perhaps cut back on the sour cream/mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this recipe in the middle of winter and served it as a warm dish instead of cold (mixing all ingredients and adding the chicken and rice as soon as they finished cooking) and it was fantastic!. I didn't have any chutney or preserves at the time so I put some coconut on the table, as an optional addition. I must say, I've been to India and had authentic Indian curry and this has jumped to the top of my favorite curry dishes. It will be one of my permanent recipes. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We enjoyed this very much in the run-up to Christmas. I wanted to make gravy and bought a rotisserie chicken, I chopped the meat from the bones & made broth from the bones. Then I chopped the chicken & made this salad. It was delicious - just the amount of spice my husband will accept. Next time I will double the ingredients except the rice to have a richer salad. I served it lukewarm and chilled - both good. Forgot the pine nuts - oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Really good! The Mango chutney works beautifully. Next time I am going to sub yogurt in for the mayo and reduce the amount. I may also try jasmine or basmatti rice. Thanks Sheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I uses jasmine rice cooked in 1/2 coconut milk 1/2 chicken stock foran extra flavor boost. Was a huge hit...even the kids loved it! Also, I cut the mayo as suggested by others, the sour cream was enough. Toasting the nuts makes them crunchier and tastier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Did not have celery, green onion or pepper, so I substituted celery salt for the salt and decreased both the mayo and sour cream by 1/4 c. Substituted mandarin oranges for the chutney..Great way to use left over rice and chicken (used brown rice)...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Awesome...I have been craving the flavor of curry and this was just the ticket. My modifications to the recipe were to make it a bit healthier by adding brown rice instead of white, and light sour cream. I also added a pinch of cayenne for a bite and cashews intead of pine nuts...allergic. Love it, can't wait to serve it this evening after the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I tried it with plain couscous instead of rice and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I cut the rice to 2/3 of what is specified, omit the nuts and add sliced red grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is an EASY and YUMMY recipe. Everyone in my family loved it. The flavor is fantastic! It is the perfect dinner for a hot summer night. Served it with fresh berries and a simple green salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States