Curried Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
It needed to have more sauce (used soy milk instead of yogurt - try yogurt next time); perhaps it was because I had more chicken than it asked for even though I increased the spices. Doubled the spices to give it more flavor. Did not have cardamom so I subbed cinnamon & nutmeg in its place. Used a whole bunch of chard b/c I wouldn't know what else I would do with the rest of the bunch. Used 3 whites potatoes; peeled and parboiled a little but it still took awhile to cook the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I couldn't find any cumin seed or black mustard seed so I used ground cumin and ground yellow mustard powder, so maybe that's why this was so bland. Also, I used spinach instead of the swiss chard. So, perhaps it wasn't the recipe that was the problem. It was okay, but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
My husband and I love Indian food and found this dish disappointing compared to our expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday. As written, I think it would have been really plain. I tripled all the spices (except the cayenne--I doubled that) I used ground cumin instead of cumin seeds (1 tsp all together) and I didn't have black mustard seeds but used regular mustard seeds instead. I also didn't have cardamom so I used chinese five spice. I used 6 skinless chicken drumsticks, 2 pints of tomatoes I canned last summer plus a 15 oz can of tomato sauce. I used half a quart bag of frozen swiss chard (squeezed all the water out) that I had frozen from the garden last year and diced 3 potatoes. I put all of this in the crock pot and cooked on low for 8 hrs. I then deboned the chicken and added it back to the sauce and added 2 cups of greek yogurt. It was still pretty bland, However, as it sat and cooled a little the flavors really started to pop! Had a little later before bed and it was really good! This is one of those recipes that get better as it sits. Will make this again with the changes I made but will make it in advance. Would be excellent as one of my cook for a month meals and frozen for use later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very tasty with a few adjustments. After reading reviews that said this was a bit bland, I doubled the spices (except the cayenne) and added diced onion and ginger with the garlic. Also, my husband has a dairy allergy and I couldn't find any soy yogurt so I used coconut milk instead... wonderful flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Excellent taste. I didn't have yogurt on hand, so used light sour cream. Love the flavour of this dish - definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Good flavor, but chicken got overcooked while waiting for potatoes to cook. Next time I would parboil potatoes before adding them. Also- add yogurt at end so it does not separate if heat gets high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I was looking for recipes with Swiss Chard and chicken and this one fit the bill. It took extra time to make up some garam masala as I was out (dry roasting cumin, coriander, cardamon, black pepper, clove & cinnamon). After reading the reviews, I added the stems of the chard with an onion and carrots and parsley and cooked them with the chicken. I used less olive oil and added ! 1/4 c. homemade chicken stock. If I was cooking for myself, I would have added the full amount of cayenne pepper, but toned it down for my children. Like the other reviewers, I vastly increased the amount of spices, especially the cumin and really could have added even more, though my son thought that the spices were pungent, but I didn't think they were strong. I served it over brown bastimati rice and have several containers leftover to take for lunches! I also used Greek Yogurt which made it a little creamier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is excellent, BUT you MUST at least double the spices, although i could do without the double cayenne pepper next time! I used ground cumin, didne have seeds, and yellow mustard seeds. I nuked the potatoes about 4 minutes before adding to the chicken, to be sure they would cook through. I had some store bought yellow curry in a jar and i added (about 1/4 cup) because i wanted more of the spice and flavor. After adding all the ingredients, I thought this was a bit watery moisture from the potatoes and the chard so i took 3/4 mug full of the sauce and whisked it with some flour, then added to the pot to thicken. Overall this is a great recipe, I just had too much chicken (I used 4 chicken breasts because that is what i had defrosted), and I am not one to measure things but instead eyeball it, so next time I will make a LOT more of the sauce! I will definately make again, with a little less hot pepper and more of the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made with tofu instead of chicken and added yogurt at the very end just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States