Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I made something very similar to this last night, from a different recipe. The ingredients are mostly the same, except: used 15 oz can stewed tomatoes, 1 tbsp brown sugar, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, no garlic, no bay leaf, only 1 tsp curry powder and 1 c regular long grain rice (Uncle Ben's white). Was actually quite good. My husband loves spicy, and I enjoy it too, at times, but our 4 year old isn't too hot about it. The 1 tsp curry powder was perfect for us. My son loved the chicken and rice. Only thing I found was that I needed 2 cans of tomatoes and about 2/3 c more water - threw it all in a small stockpot and cooked on the stove. I think I "simmered" at too high heat to get the rice done (20 minutes, just like the box says). All in all, very good. We also decided it needs some sort of vegetable, haven't figured out what yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Awesome and sooooo full of flavor! The whole family loved it. After step one, I finished it in my rice maker and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This is good and easy; it's a quick substitute for making a more authentic curry, and a good weeknight dinner. I made the following changes: (1) used regular (not quick) brown rice and cooked it all on the stovetop for about 50 minutes, til the water was absorbed and the rice was soft. I adjusted the water/rice proportions accordingly (3/4c rice and 1 1/2 c water). It didn't seem necessary to me to turn the oven on when I could do this on the stovetop, though it did mean watching it a bit more closely. (2) Added about 1/8t cayenne since the curry powder I used is quite mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Looks like I am out of the norm compared to the other reviewers. But I’m sorry, I just didn’t care for this recipe. I thought it was okay - nothing special. I just didn’t care for the flavors. I love curry recipes too so I was a little disappointed. I brought some to my mom and she didn’t care for it either. I would just give this recipe 2 stars however, since it was healthy, easy to make and all of the directions were accurate I will give it 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Wow!! I absolutely love this recipe. The simplicity of the recipe and complex flavors will definately make this one over and over again. Even my picky husband said it was a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I made a few minor changes, like making the rice in a cooker before adding it to the rest of the mixture. YUM. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This is the first time that I have ever felt that I needed to respond to a recipe.... This is a WONDERFUL recipe!!!! In the last month I have made it 4 times and my family loves it, including my 3 year old daughter! Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Made this for dinner last night and my husband and I liked it. I used to make a dish very similar years ago which called for the rice cooked separately and chopped green apple was added to the chicken mixture which I did to this recipe. Husband said he would like this better without apple. Easy and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Great but had to cook it another 15 minutes because the brown rice was still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I have to admit, I was surprised with this recipe. I found it using the ingredient search as I was very low on groceries and needed something for supper. I would have hever thought of putting tomatoes, rice, raisins, etc... all in the same dish but it was very tasty. Don't be afraid to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States