Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe tasted very good and was real easy to make. The only thing I have against it is that it's a little dry and don't know how to fix it. It tasted so good that I know I will make it again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
The recipe was easy and it looked very appetizing but the cinnamon flavor was not good at all. To make it edible, my son and I poured on some hot sauce and some sage, which helped a lot but it was still not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Easy, low-fat, nice flavor...a little spice. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I couldn't believe how easy this was to make, and how well it turned out. My husband rated it a 4 and-one-half and called it "super". Will definitely make this again, next time probably for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was awesome. It was a last minute meal, so I didn't have all the right stuff on hand, but I improvised and it turned out really well. I used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the boullion. I only had tomato paste, so I used that and added a chopped tomato as well. I also added about 1/3 cup of frozen peas, and half a chopped, sauteed onion. I used white rice since I ran out of brown, and my chicken was already cooked (it was leftovers and was looking pretty dry) so I just shredded it and added it to the mix. I baked it about 35 minutes and voila! It was really delicious and easy. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I wanted to make this casserolle-style in the oven, so as not to dry out the chicken I substituted whole chicken leg pieces for the cut up breast. I mixed all the ingredients except the water and chicken several hours before to allow for the flavors to combine. When it was time to bake it, I added the rice and water and poured the entire liquid mix into a greased casserolle dish. While doing this I seared the chicken in hot olive oil, about 2 min's each side, then pressed them into the dish as well. After spooning a little of the tomatoe liquid over the top of each leg piece I then topped just the pieces with parsley (for looks!). I covered it and baked it at 350 (180) for double the time (1 1/2 hours). It looked gorgeous and smelled divine. I needed to serve 15 men so I quadrupled the recipe. It got better than rave reviews from the men, they went wild over it. Thanks for the great recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
great with a little cheddar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very poor balance of flavor. Lots of acidity from the tomato and lemon but the sweet of the raisins was not enough to balance it. Won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. It does not taste like curry in my opinion, but it's still very good. I do make slight modifications, I omit the boullion (sp?) b/c I try to tightly control the amount of sodium I eat. Also, I don't like raisins so I use dried cranberries instead. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I thought this was good but the flavor lacked something. I made a lot of changes (such as, substituted quinoa for brown rice so it would cook faster and adding green onions, a carrot, mushrooms and craisons), but this had nothing to do with the spice ratios. I think next time I will try adding pumpkin pie spice like another reviewer did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States