Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
The DO loved this. My 2yr old ate it, but no mmm or yummy from him. He'll eat as much as a 225lbs man if he likes it enough, so I think he was ok with it. I thought it had good flavor, but next time I make it I'll definitely season and brown the chicken first as it was somewhat bland when eating a chunk alone. Also, I think next time I'll serve with sour cream or yogurt as a last minute dolup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was really good but I used Ethiopian curry powder. My face melted. The next day wasn't too pleasant either. Next time I'll use regular curry with just a touch of the hot stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent. My husband says its on the top 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I really enjoy the simplicity of this dish. Good flavors, really easy to make. I use brown rice. Throw everything in a 13 x 9 and also add some coconut milk. Bake it covered in the oven for about 1.5 hours. Great as left overs! I make this at least every 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadeeLuck84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My family loved this and I loved the quick prep and cleanup. I waited until the end to add the raisins so they were tender but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very easy to make. My only complaint is that it had too much tomato flavour, but minor tweaks could easily fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is my favorite recipe with curry. It's incredibly easy. I actually use Jamine rice pre cooked in coconut milk and then add it to the curry mixture before baking. This also gives it more liquid to bake with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
We loved it! I had leftover brown rice and leftover chicken from roasting a couple of chickens. I used about 6 cups of leftover rice, a 15.5 oz can diced tomatoes (didn't have stewed), and the chicken I had leftover (wished I had had more chicken). I doubled all the spices for this amount (except only 1 bouillon cube). I had to keep adding water to get the right consistency since I was using already cooked rice. I only wished I had more - we had no leftovers! I'm going to add it to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I tried this recipe a few months ago and I have made it at least once a week since. My family loves it. There are a few things I changed. I doubled it up because 4 servings is not enough! I add about half the amount of curry spice. I also boil the chicken (bone in) til it's cooked through, then pull it into chunks instead of cubing raw chicken. And I just use the broth from the boiled chicken instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gellybellyache

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Good mix of flavors. Used four fresh roma tomatoes, and also cooked regular brown rice separately, then mixed it with the other ingredients. Added peas for color. Quick and easy for a cooler winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States