Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This is the first time that I have ever felt that I needed to respond to a recipe.... This is a WONDERFUL recipe!!!! In the last month I have made it 4 times and my family loves it, including my 3 year old daughter! Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I threw this all together, uncooked, into a casserole dish for 75-90 minutes, using 1 cup of regular brown rice,. Easy and yum! We'll be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This is good and easy; it's a quick substitute for making a more authentic curry, and a good weeknight dinner. I made the following changes: (1) used regular (not quick) brown rice and cooked it all on the stovetop for about 50 minutes, til the water was absorbed and the rice was soft. I adjusted the water/rice proportions accordingly (3/4c rice and 1 1/2 c water). It didn't seem necessary to me to turn the oven on when I could do this on the stovetop, though it did mean watching it a bit more closely. (2) Added about 1/8t cayenne since the curry powder I used is quite mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Looks like I am out of the norm compared to the other reviewers. But I’m sorry, I just didn’t care for this recipe. I thought it was okay - nothing special. I just didn’t care for the flavors. I love curry recipes too so I was a little disappointed. I brought some to my mom and she didn’t care for it either. I would just give this recipe 2 stars however, since it was healthy, easy to make and all of the directions were accurate I will give it 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This casserole is wonderful! As a curry fan on a weight loss program, this is a PERFECT dinner for me. The raisins (I used golden seedless) really make it special. This one is going into my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this once and it probably earned 4 stars but 'm rating this a 5 for the potential. I added about a cup of cauliflower which was a nice addition. I also added a can of tomato sauce. I think it needs 2 cubes of chicken bouillon and probably a tbsp of cumin. I will also add chopped onion next time. I started it in the skillet and just put the whole skillet in the oven covered in foil to finish it, so I didn't dirty 2 pans. Do stir it often. I almost didn't add the raisins since I don't usually like fruit mixed with savory dishes but I wish I had added more, they really do make it special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I am always looking for new dishes to try with my friends... This turned out really good (other than my mistake of using regular brown rice and it didn't get done in the oven, the first time I made it) I made it again today cooking regular brown rice all the way on the top of the stove before mixing it into the rest of the recipe and into the oven... The first time I made it for 9 others and they all liked the flavor... in the future I would always cook the rice on the top of the stove before mixing into the rest... another thing I would do is to mix up the rest of the recipe the night before and let it marinade the chicken... plus makes it so easy to stick in the oven the next day and dinner is done!!! Thanks for the recipe, will use it again in the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Wow!! I absolutely love this recipe. The simplicity of the recipe and complex flavors will definately make this one over and over again. Even my picky husband said it was a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I have to admit, I was surprised with this recipe. I found it using the ingredient search as I was very low on groceries and needed something for supper. I would have hever thought of putting tomatoes, rice, raisins, etc... all in the same dish but it was very tasty. Don't be afraid to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Yummy! I used pumpkin pie spice instead of just plain cinnamon. Tasty and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States