Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was great! The entire family enjoyed it...this one is a keeper. My husband, who is definitely not a cook, made this for dinner and said it was "so easy, even I could do it." I did feel it was a little sweet, next time we will add some frozen peas before it goes into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Probably not something I'd make again. I like all the ingredients on their own, but not together. The mix of flavors just wasn't very good, and the texture was really mushy. My husband and son couldn't even finish their plates. The chicken was the only redeeming quality, as it turned out quite good. I picked it out and ate it alone as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Great curry without yogurt! It is so hard to find good dairy free curry recipes. We loved it and my son didn't break out in hives so it get 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I also found this recipe through the ingredient search for a churc potluck. I doubled it, using a 28 oz can of stewed tomatoes & adding 1/2 tsp of ginger & 2T sugar recommended by another reviewer. I also used regular brown rice, and just cooked it on the stove for 10 minutes while I cut up the chicken. Then after adding the chicken, I put it all in a 9x13, covered it, and stuck it in the oven for 1 1/2 hours at 300 and when the church service was over -- it was done. Since I'm not a curry eater, I'm not a good judge of these things. But others at church who like curry said it was good, and had nice flavor. So I'm passing along their review to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
eh. not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Excellent recipe that has a regular part in meal rotation. We usually add extra curry powder, some dried cranberries, and extra raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Recipe was ok. It was easy to make, however i used regular brown rice instead of quick brown and it took over an hour to cook in the oven. Overall not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Very easy to make, and my husband and I both liked it, although it's not a very attractive dish. Not "to die for" but good if you want a curry dish in hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
this was really yummy, but i definitely would use a lot less raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I made something very similar to this last night, from a different recipe. The ingredients are mostly the same, except: used 15 oz can stewed tomatoes, 1 tbsp brown sugar, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, no garlic, no bay leaf, only 1 tsp curry powder and 1 c regular long grain rice (Uncle Ben's white). Was actually quite good. My husband loves spicy, and I enjoy it too, at times, but our 4 year old isn't too hot about it. The 1 tsp curry powder was perfect for us. My son loved the chicken and rice. Only thing I found was that I needed 2 cans of tomatoes and about 2/3 c more water - threw it all in a small stockpot and cooked on the stove. I think I "simmered" at too high heat to get the rice done (20 minutes, just like the box says). All in all, very good. We also decided it needs some sort of vegetable, haven't figured out what yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States