Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Easy, low-fat, nice flavor...a little spice. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I couldn't believe how easy this was to make, and how well it turned out. My husband rated it a 4 and-one-half and called it "super". Will definitely make this again, next time probably for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was awesome. It was a last minute meal, so I didn't have all the right stuff on hand, but I improvised and it turned out really well. I used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the boullion. I only had tomato paste, so I used that and added a chopped tomato as well. I also added about 1/3 cup of frozen peas, and half a chopped, sauteed onion. I used white rice since I ran out of brown, and my chicken was already cooked (it was leftovers and was looking pretty dry) so I just shredded it and added it to the mix. I baked it about 35 minutes and voila! It was really delicious and easy. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I wanted to make this casserolle-style in the oven, so as not to dry out the chicken I substituted whole chicken leg pieces for the cut up breast. I mixed all the ingredients except the water and chicken several hours before to allow for the flavors to combine. When it was time to bake it, I added the rice and water and poured the entire liquid mix into a greased casserolle dish. While doing this I seared the chicken in hot olive oil, about 2 min's each side, then pressed them into the dish as well. After spooning a little of the tomatoe liquid over the top of each leg piece I then topped just the pieces with parsley (for looks!). I covered it and baked it at 350 (180) for double the time (1 1/2 hours). It looked gorgeous and smelled divine. I needed to serve 15 men so I quadrupled the recipe. It got better than rave reviews from the men, they went wild over it. Thanks for the great recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
great with a little cheddar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very poor balance of flavor. Lots of acidity from the tomato and lemon but the sweet of the raisins was not enough to balance it. Won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. It does not taste like curry in my opinion, but it's still very good. I do make slight modifications, I omit the boullion (sp?) b/c I try to tightly control the amount of sodium I eat. Also, I don't like raisins so I use dried cranberries instead. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I thought this was good but the flavor lacked something. I made a lot of changes (such as, substituted quinoa for brown rice so it would cook faster and adding green onions, a carrot, mushrooms and craisons), but this had nothing to do with the spice ratios. I think next time I will try adding pumpkin pie spice like another reviewer did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was very easy to make. I did have to buy a spice or two that I don't normally have in the house. Very tasty. Unfortunately, my husband didn't care for it so I won't be able to make it very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe, but it just got an "Okay" from my family members. I've never cooked with curry before and I was eager to try it. Since I'm dieting this healthy and easy recipe was worth a try. I would definitly make it again, but it won't be in the regular rotation of recipes in my home as the family wasn't raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States