Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Oh MY! I am eating leftovers of this right now from last night's dinner and it is STILL divine! This is comfort food without the guilt! Rice cooks completely, chicken has great flavor, you don't miss a bit of the fat or calories! Lemon juice gives it a bright, irresistible flavor! Will definitely be making this again. Also thinking of trying it "Cajun Style" with sausage & shrimp or sausage & chicken... Great method & GREAT taste!!! Thanks for posting!!! By the way...served along with some sauteed red bells & onions seasoned with cumin, coriander, S&P, added fresh garlic, chicken stock & lemon juice at the end. AWESOME complement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good for such a quickly put together casserole. The family really liked this. I made it on the stove top, next time I will par cook the rice and add more curry as we found it quite sweet. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary Mackesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
O My Gosh this was SOOOOO good! EVERYONE loved it! My 5 yr old asked for it again the next day, 2 year old asked for more and husband enjoyed it as well!Very delicious. I boiled some leg peices for about an hour, took meat off bone, and added it to rice mixture half way through bake time. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastajjia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
It was something new for us, since we don't eat curried anything very often. It tasted fine, but wasn't overly special in any way. Might make again just because it was so easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This tastes really good, but took WAY longer than 45 minutes to bake. After 55 minutes, the rice was still crunchy and I had to turn on my convection oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is easy and delicious. You may be inclined to omit the raisins, but don't! They add a wonderful dimension to the dish. This is perfect fall weather food, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Pronounced a 5* by all who ate it. Made no substantial changes. Might have cooked it 40 instead of 45 min as the chicken might have been a tiny bit dry at 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Made this simple recipe last night. Everyone loved it but we all agreed it could be a bit "wetter" and felt a great addition at the end would have been to stir in some pineapple cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visualjohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
OK, so I am reviewing the recipe that I tweeked a bit. I had about 4 cups of leftover brown and wild rice from dinner the night before along with about 2-3 cups of roast chicken thighs and some breast meat from earlier in the week so I omitted the water and chicken bouillon and used a whole 15.5 oz can of Itilian style stewed tomatoes and followed the recipe from there and just cooked the whole thing in the oven for about half an hour until bubbly. Such a great combination of flavors, my boys were skeptical when they saw the raisins but mmmmmm, so yummy they fought over the last spoonfuls! Winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
by the sounds of the reviews and the ingredients, i thought this recipe would be amazing... It was good, but not as good as it could have been. the chicken needs to be marinated or seasoned or SOMETHING beforehand because it was very bland in the final product. however, the raisins, curry and rice was pretty good. if i tried this again i'd make sure to give the chicken some flavor before mixing it into the casserole. as is, the recipe is very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States