Curried Chicken and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Curried Chicken & Broccoli Casserole Haiku: "Bit too lemony. And saw no need for 'layers.' Just moosh together." Not sure what the point was of layering broccoli, then chicken, then the soup/mayo mixture, so I just mixed them together. We also thought that 1/4 c. of lemon juice was too much. AR's "Chicken LaPaloma" is very similar to this, and I think I like it better b/c it has less lemon juice. The curry is the real stand-out here; it's unlikely that I'll ever make a chick/brocc casserole w/o it. Oh the only thing that I changed was topping half of it w/ French-fried onions (my daughter's fave casserole topper), and the other half w/ bran flakes that I'd mixed w/ a little melted butter, as I find corn flakes too sweet for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Do yourself a flavor and lighten this dish up by substituting 1 cup of Plain, non-fat Yoghurt for the cup of Mayo! I'm never going back to the mayo again! Add salt to taste after if you prefer, however I assure you the taste of this dish will not be altered! Mom made this recipe at least twice a month for my entire teenage life. With that said, I feel I have earned the ability to comment on and tweak this recipe...(A single working mother, mom disliked food prep and simply didn't have the time to cook extravagant meals for four kids). She would make this recipe with frozen broccoli and diced chicken breast.) *Please note, raw chicken adds substantial cooking time.* I remember this dish with its over abundance of fat laden mayo feeling too heavy. I also recently tried lightening this recipe with lite mayo instead and still, it tasted too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is really good! It's one of those meals that I grew up eating and now make for my kids. The only changes I make are 1) adding more broccoli, 2)making my own cream of chicken soup instead of using canned, and MOST IMPORTANTLY, 3)using seasoned croutons in place of the cornflakes. This adds more flavor and a better crunch than just plain corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
The curry/mayo combo wasn't my favorite flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was a great recipe!!! I added cooked penne noodles with the broccoli and chicken in a bowl and poured that as the bottom layer. Then added real bacon bits on top of the cheese (I used more cheese then suggested, because I love cheese) with the crushed corn flakes on top which added a ton of flavor. I will definitally be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
this is good instead of lemon juice I use a teaspoon of mustard. I also serve it with rice. I really like it with cornflakes. I used to top it with crushed crackers or bread crumbs but cornflakes is much better.Also i have left the chicken out before and added extra veggies. Mushrooms are especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is almost the exact recipe I grew up eating (and I was also known to request it for my birthdays!) Precooked rotisserie chickens weren't at every grocery when I was little. My mom always just cooked boneless tenders or breasts, then cubed. As a super lazy grownup cook, I buy precooked frozen chicken breast cubes and use frozen broccoli florets. The one thing I've done differently over the years is to increase the amount of curry powder. I'm up to about 2 tablespoons, but I really love curry. Don't tinker with the lemon juice! I've left it out by mistake, and tried extra "just to see". The first had no zip, and the second was awful. I have also had good success freezing, just add the corn flakes after it comes out of the freezer to keep them from getting too soggy. Crushed corn Chex works great, too. My family likes it with rice. Worth making enough to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
My family liked this one (except for the super picky eater who doesn't like anything made with cream soups). I found it to be a little too lemon-y from the juice. And I should have drained the broccoli better as it ended up being a little runny in the bottom. Next time I'll cut down the lemon juice by half and then I think the flavour balance would work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanna Heebner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States