Curried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Very good, hardly tasted the apple when I made sure it was well cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I left out the cream soup but upped the dairy thickened with a bit if gf flour mix. Very good...oh, I upped the curry spice, added a few shakes of cayenne and a handful of crasins. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Really good. Ive had jamacan style curried chicken and this holds up next to it. Id probably leave the apples out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I used boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into chunks and cooked the chicken in a large frying pan (7 minutes) with the butter spices apples and onions - I added Garam Marsala to the spice mix - then mixed the soup and cream in a bowl and added to the pan simmered until chicken was cooked through - loved by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgreene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
My husband is a picky eater and he said this dish was restaurant quality. I just didn't put apples in and substituted it for red and green peppers. Super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is a delicious recipe. I was looking for an easy curry chicken recipe and this is the first one I found. I used regular milk, but simply because that is what I had on hand. My family loved it...especially my husband. Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizzChrizz
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I used boneless skinless chicken breast as I have picky eaters in my home that won't eat brown meat. I added in some cubed potatoes and some frozen mixed veggies. I also think that it needed a kick so I added in some jalapeño powder! This turned out soooo good! The basics of this recipe make it so easy to add in your own twist. So creamy and better than going out for Indian food (which in my area is very overpriced). Next time I may use cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
LOVE this recipe!! But I don't see a need to put it in the oven... I follow the recipe mostly, though I use 3-4 chicken breasts chopped up into bite-size pieces (season with salt, pepper, paprika as the recipe states). I cook up the apple and onion in the melted butter, then I add the chicken in and season with the curry (we like more than a Tbl... usually around 2, but I start with one and add more as I go). Once the chicken is browned, add the mushroom soup and skim milk (instead of half and half)... cook until warmed through. Serve over rice. Experiment with different types of curry too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I've made this a few times. The first time I used boneless skinless breasts and followed some other reviewers' suggestions to brown the chicken before covering with sauce. The chicken was kind of dry and the sauce didn't taste great. Now I use a big package of bone-in thighs and drumsticks and don't cook them at all (just season them as instructed in the recipe) before pouring the sauce over them. My goodness! This is one recipe I'd highly suggest following as written. The chicken is incredible, and the sauce is MUCH better for having all that time to bake in the oven. I've used variations of dairy, just depending what I have on hand. Anything from whole milk to heavy cream (and mixtures of the two) have worked great for me. I've also used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom soup - tastes great! This is a keeper! Oh, and if I have extra apples, I use two. Same with onions. I just like the texture of those things a whole lot. Finally, the recipe says to add salt, pepper, paprika and curry powder to taste - it might take a couple tries to figure out what amounts of these things you like, but it's worth it :) As others have said, it's impossible to be precise with curry measurements because curry powders vary so widely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States