Curried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
LOVE this recipe!! But I don't see a need to put it in the oven... I follow the recipe mostly, though I use 3-4 chicken breasts chopped up into bite-size pieces (season with salt, pepper, paprika as the recipe states). I cook up the apple and onion in the melted butter, then I add the chicken in and season with the curry (we like more than a Tbl... usually around 2, but I start with one and add more as I go). Once the chicken is browned, add the mushroom soup and skim milk (instead of half and half)... cook until warmed through. Serve over rice. Experiment with different types of curry too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I've made this a few times. The first time I used boneless skinless breasts and followed some other reviewers' suggestions to brown the chicken before covering with sauce. The chicken was kind of dry and the sauce didn't taste great. Now I use a big package of bone-in thighs and drumsticks and don't cook them at all (just season them as instructed in the recipe) before pouring the sauce over them. My goodness! This is one recipe I'd highly suggest following as written. The chicken is incredible, and the sauce is MUCH better for having all that time to bake in the oven. I've used variations of dairy, just depending what I have on hand. Anything from whole milk to heavy cream (and mixtures of the two) have worked great for me. I've also used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom soup - tastes great! This is a keeper! Oh, and if I have extra apples, I use two. Same with onions. I just like the texture of those things a whole lot. Finally, the recipe says to add salt, pepper, paprika and curry powder to taste - it might take a couple tries to figure out what amounts of these things you like, but it's worth it :) As others have said, it's impossible to be precise with curry measurements because curry powders vary so widely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
VERY YUMMY RECIPE! Because it was a hot day and I had to cook dinner quickly, I did everything on the stove top. I seasoned (with S&P)& cooked 4 skinless boneless chicken breasts in olive oil and then added a clove of chopped garlic at the end. Then deglazed the pan with a little chicken broth & set aside. I cooked a chopped onion, carrot, and small potato in the butter instead of the apple. I only had fat-free half & half so I used that. The curry powder didn't seem like enough flavor for our taste so I also seasoned the chicken with a teaspoon of additional curry powder. Then poured the sauce & veggies in with the seasoned chicken. OMG - SOOOOO GOOOOOOD! I served it with steamed white rice and my boyfriend could not stop eating it! We love Indian food and this recipe is quite a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Big hit with my family! I added red bell pepper, mushrooms,and fresh garlic. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My boys loved this recipe after I changed it up a but. I used goats evaporated milk instead of cream and cream of broccoli instead of mushroom. My boys don't like mushroom. They ask for it more often now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangie Kins

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I used boneless, skinless chicken, and I had no cream on hand so I made do with milk. I also added extra curry powder and crushed red pepper and some bell peppers. I'm at a loss for how it could be so tasteless. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I grew up on this recipe (the submitter is my dad) and I love it! It was one of the first dishes I made when I was trying to cook for myself and I still make it for guests and my family. It is super adaptable, you can throw in different veggies if you want or use a lighter milk. I've made this vegetarian with mushrooms instead of chicken. Has a very complex flavor for being so simple. A+ (Hi Dad!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
One of my favorite dishes in years of being on AR. Doubled the curry powder, added turmeric, cumin, crushed red pepper to the sauce mix, along with some fresh garlic and ginger. Chopped up 10 thawed chicken tenders that were previously cooked and let it simmer in the sauce while I cooked basmati rice in the microwave for 18 minutes. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was good! I'd call it a westernized version of curry, but still very good. I used carrots instead of apples and added mushrooms, but otherwise followed the recipe. So good on a cold day, easy to make and hard to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hosmer, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The receipe as is is just 3 stars. I have to change some of the ingrediants. Use Coconut milk in place of the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States