Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm not a big fan of cauliflower, but I wanted to try this. It tastes good, and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great as is, and sauce lends itself easily to variations. Suitable for company or a pot luck; a keeper with a good, balanced flavor. In the future, for color, I'll try adding some frozen petite peas to the sauce; maybe some julienne cut carrots. The sauce quantity is perfect, covering all florets filling a shallow 8" x 10" baking dish. I used enough buttered crackers/crumb mix to cover the dish thoroughly. I'd characterize the curry taste as "mild" or "a gentle hint of curry." Though I used "98% fat free" chicken soup, I used regular rather than light mayo and a quarter cup of butter for the bread crumbs. The result is a slight rich character to the sauce, but I LOVED the dish and treated it as a main course. Who'd have thought I'd fill myself with cauliflower! I used up what we had of Triskets crackers and supplemented with plain bread crumbs. Use crackers; they add a crunch, even when crushed, that you don't get from just the bread crumbs. Would I use light mayo in the future? Maybe not. Part of the charm of this recipe (and drawback for some) is the rich character of the final product. Once I cut the amount of butter and had difficulty getting the top to brown; stick with recipe as it is. Do NOT add salt; there's plenty from the soup and butter. More curry? Depends on your preference for the spice. Pepper? Maybe 1/8 tsp but more would change the flavor balance I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I really enjoyed this. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was so good. The second time I made it I tried to modify the recipe so there would be fewer calories and fat. I cut back on the mayonaise and omitted the butter and crackers. It just wasn't the same. I recommend following the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I was happy that this recipe was posted because I lost my recipe for this dish. Like others who enjoy curry flavor, I add a little more curry. If you are curry beginner, keep it as listed. I put the cauliflower in the microwave for two minutes in a zip lock bag or place it in raw. I like cauliflower firm and it can get too soft in the baking process. This great with chicken and rice! Again, thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
DE.....LI.....CIOUS! I made this for the first time at Thanksgiving. Everyone just loved the receipe. I'm going to make it again for Christmas, but I'm going to add a little more curry. Hope it is still as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Making this for potluck Christmas party. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Love this recipe! It is almost identical to my mother's except she adds shredded cheddar to the recipe (which I did) and it was fantastic! Also, I love curry, so I added a little bit more than called for. I skipped the butter and crackers, but I think the cheddar made up for lack of butter :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
delicious, I did add cooked chicken, shredded steamed carrots, a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper and garlic powder. Doesn't need the butter or crackers. Served it over brown/wild rice. Next time will include the rice in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a very good recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out well. However, I agree with a few of the other reviewers, it really doesn't need the crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Super good. Unfortunately, no one else in the house is as enthusiastic about curry as I am. Next time I'll use 1 tsp. curry. Or my wife suggested trying cumin instead. I loved it tho'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States