Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great as is, and sauce lends itself easily to variations. Suitable for company or a pot luck; a keeper with a good, balanced flavor. In the future, for color, I'll try adding some frozen petite peas to the sauce; maybe some julienne cut carrots. The sauce quantity is perfect, covering all florets filling a shallow 8" x 10" baking dish. I used enough buttered crackers/crumb mix to cover the dish thoroughly. I'd characterize the curry taste as "mild" or "a gentle hint of curry." Though I used "98% fat free" chicken soup, I used regular rather than light mayo and a quarter cup of butter for the bread crumbs. The result is a slight rich character to the sauce, but I LOVED the dish and treated it as a main course. Who'd have thought I'd fill myself with cauliflower! I used up what we had of Triskets crackers and supplemented with plain bread crumbs. Use crackers; they add a crunch, even when crushed, that you don't get from just the bread crumbs. Would I use light mayo in the future? Maybe not. Part of the charm of this recipe (and drawback for some) is the rich character of the final product. Once I cut the amount of butter and had difficulty getting the top to brown; stick with recipe as it is. Do NOT add salt; there's plenty from the soup and butter. More curry? Depends on your preference for the spice. Pepper? Maybe 1/8 tsp but more would change the flavor balance I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I really enjoyed this. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was so good. The second time I made it I tried to modify the recipe so there would be fewer calories and fat. I cut back on the mayonaise and omitted the butter and crackers. It just wasn't the same. I recommend following the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I was happy that this recipe was posted because I lost my recipe for this dish. Like others who enjoy curry flavor, I add a little more curry. If you are curry beginner, keep it as listed. I put the cauliflower in the microwave for two minutes in a zip lock bag or place it in raw. I like cauliflower firm and it can get too soft in the baking process. This great with chicken and rice! Again, thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
DE.....LI.....CIOUS! I made this for the first time at Thanksgiving. Everyone just loved the receipe. I'm going to make it again for Christmas, but I'm going to add a little more curry. Hope it is still as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Making this for potluck Christmas party. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Love this recipe! It is almost identical to my mother's except she adds shredded cheddar to the recipe (which I did) and it was fantastic! Also, I love curry, so I added a little bit more than called for. I skipped the butter and crackers, but I think the cheddar made up for lack of butter :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
delicious, I did add cooked chicken, shredded steamed carrots, a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper and garlic powder. Doesn't need the butter or crackers. Served it over brown/wild rice. Next time will include the rice in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a very good recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out well. However, I agree with a few of the other reviewers, it really doesn't need the crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Super good. Unfortunately, no one else in the house is as enthusiastic about curry as I am. Next time I'll use 1 tsp. curry. Or my wife suggested trying cumin instead. I loved it tho'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I just made this. It is very good! I used the 'Roasted Garlic Cauliflower' recipe on this site to roast the veg first. I only roasted for 15 minutes, then I added the sauce and baked for 30 minutes. I also added a bit extra curry. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States